Menu

LEX File Exchange
EA Support Files
SC4 Wikipedia
Network Addon Mod
Dependencies
Chat

Author Topic: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread  (Read 122323 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MandelSoft

  • The Dutch Freeway Engineer
  • NAM Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 3968
  • Total likes: 15
  • Reputation: 30
  • SimCity 4 turned me into a civil engineer
  • CL:
    Let there be Light!
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #60 on: March 29, 2009, 05:29:49 AM »
I've seen 256x256 textures before at the Maxis Highways. They can't be made with the SC4Tool, but maybe with the Vista Compatible FSH-Lib I can make them with FiSHman...

This discovery is definitely pushing the limits of SC4  ;)
Lurk mode: ACTIVE

Offline Jonathan

  • NAM Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2609
  • Total likes: 5
  • Reputation: 25
  • CL: Einstein, Jr. &scl()
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #61 on: March 29, 2009, 08:38:41 AM »
I'm not sure, but would my tool here: http://sc4devotion.com/forums/index.php?topic=7127.0 (last post) be able to create HD Textures, it can create any size FSH, and you just select a bitmap and a alpha (I haven't yet worked out how to get pngs with transparency to work) and it creates a FSH.

Forgot to add, I haven't used this version of EA graph, yet so I don't know how it compares to the older one which was a bit complicated (well at least for me)

Jonathan

Offline mightygoose

  • 3RR Team
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1885
  • Total likes: 6
  • Reputation: 12
  • duck duck....
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #62 on: March 29, 2009, 08:43:17 AM »
should do, but i'll just reiterate that eagraph will do direct psd to fsh conversion.. and will generate the alpha...
NAM + CAM + RAM + SAM, that's how I roll....

Online Tarkus

  • Administrator
  • Forums Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 11414
  • Total likes: 4684
  • Reputation: 73
  • NAM Team Tankadillo
    • NAM HQ
  • CL: Dr. PuzzlePiece
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #63 on: March 29, 2009, 11:21:02 AM »
and will generate the alpha...

That, to me, is the nicest thing about EA Graph--no more manually making Alphas.  It would particularly come in handy on Rail textures, I'd think.

-Alex

Offline buddybud

Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #64 on: March 29, 2009, 11:56:21 AM »
lol...Thats exactly what i kept saying to goose all yesterday morning....also i want to explore the different compression, packing and mutiple fsh formats that this tool makes possible. There could be some other goodies lurking within!....

Cheers.

Bud

Offline Toichus Maximus

Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #65 on: March 29, 2009, 12:05:24 PM »
This is phenomenal! Those rail textures are absolutely excellent! Damn.... just after STR and the first RAM was finished, too...

Offline buddybud

Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #66 on: March 29, 2009, 12:18:38 PM »
Rather ironic but really it just gives us even more ability to make this game that much more realistic....Since that is the goal of the ram team and most of this community i am sure they will be just as pleased. Also since it's a relatively new thing we may still find there are certain limitations or even reasons not to use this at all...time will tell..
I just a week or so ago finished my textures for my el rail mod....I've playing with 256's now and somewhat dismayed by this myself!!  $%Grinno$%

by the way the rail texture used in the photo's is from turbosquid and is not mine or goose's...but i'm sure someone will come up with something equally impressive

Cheers...
Bud

Offline TEG24601

Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #67 on: March 29, 2009, 07:32:41 PM »
This is awesome.  I can't wait for what ever sort of patch/add-on that can be made to bring these updated, and realistic graphics to the SC4 Universe.

Offline buddybud

Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #68 on: March 30, 2009, 12:34:21 PM »
here's what i've been able to come up with...i never could have got that third rail in there. I'm quite pleased with the detail!




Offline Ryan B.

  • 3RR Team
  • Forums Senator
  • *
  • Posts: 942
  • Total likes: 53
  • Reputation: 7
  • SC4D's PA Announcer
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #69 on: March 30, 2009, 12:59:19 PM »
Ho-lee macaroni . . . . . roads are never going to look the same again, folks.

Offline Pat

  • when life tosses you lemons, make lemonade!
  • 3RR Team
  • Forums Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 8812
  • Total likes: 6
  • Reputation: 45
  • SC4D Podcast, You Know You Wanna Hear IT!!!!
  • CL: ()pathfire() gettin' it right!
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #70 on: March 30, 2009, 01:28:54 PM »
ummm wow!!! This is incredibale here Bud... Could I ask a favor of you and or John is to write up something for me as a overview what you all know of this New High Def Texturing... I want to include it into this next podcast coming out shortly...

Don't forget the SC4D Podcast is back and live on Saturdays @ 12 noon CST!! -- The Podcast soon to Return Here Linkie

Offline mightygoose

  • 3RR Team
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1885
  • Total likes: 6
  • Reputation: 12
  • duck duck....
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #71 on: March 30, 2009, 09:03:43 PM »
you know, HD textures don't half make maxis ones look naff....

NAM + CAM + RAM + SAM, that's how I roll....

Offline Pat

  • when life tosses you lemons, make lemonade!
  • 3RR Team
  • Forums Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 8812
  • Total likes: 6
  • Reputation: 45
  • SC4D Podcast, You Know You Wanna Hear IT!!!!
  • CL: ()pathfire() gettin' it right!
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #72 on: March 30, 2009, 09:05:35 PM »
Naff??? Do I dare ask John lol anywho those look real sweet!!!

Don't forget the SC4D Podcast is back and live on Saturdays @ 12 noon CST!! -- The Podcast soon to Return Here Linkie

Offline buddybud

Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #73 on: March 30, 2009, 09:22:46 PM »
a little bit more info. It seems that to make a proper working base texture you have to start with a 256x256 png and bring it into the eagraphic tool then save it as a 24 bit fsh.

heres my go at a sidewalk.



Pat i'll get something written up by tomorrow night...not much to it really. But i'll write down what we know so far. It's all in this thread really....honest!
« Last Edit: March 30, 2009, 09:24:37 PM by buddybud »

Offline sithlrd98

Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #74 on: March 30, 2009, 09:37:01 PM »
I'm not sure what Naff means , but these textures are looking real good John &Buddy!

Jayson

Offline mightygoose

  • 3RR Team
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1885
  • Total likes: 6
  • Reputation: 12
  • duck duck....
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #75 on: March 30, 2009, 09:38:54 PM »
NAM + CAM + RAM + SAM, that's how I roll....

Offline nerdly_dood

Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #76 on: March 30, 2009, 10:15:58 PM »
I agree with MightyGoose, that first set of textures is a bit rough - but Buddybud's set is UH-MAZING.
My days here are numbered. It's been great and I've had a lot of fun, but I've moved on to bigger and better things.
   EGO  VOBIS  VADELICO  
Glory be unto the modder and unto the fun and unto the city game!

Offline TEG24601

Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #77 on: March 31, 2009, 12:05:03 AM »
naff [linkie]

Similar to the words, "smeg", "frak", "frack", and "felgercarb".

Offline Diggis

Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #78 on: March 31, 2009, 02:31:38 AM »
I have a hunch that the game is simply using the 256x256 for all view levels as opposed to relying on the farther-out textures, from the looks of things.
-Alex

I noticed this was never answered.  Really simple process to test it.  Create the zooms as per normal and the replace the 5th zoom with a marked texture (or just a red box or something).  If is shows up at all zooms then you know you are right.

Offline mightygoose

  • 3RR Team
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1885
  • Total likes: 6
  • Reputation: 12
  • duck duck....
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #79 on: March 31, 2009, 04:42:21 AM »
I agree with MightyGoose, that first set of textures is a bit rough - but Buddybud's set is UH-MAZING.

*facepalms* i was saying that even basic hi def textures make maxis ones look bad, but yeah i spose they are abit rough...
NAM + CAM + RAM + SAM, that's how I roll....