Menu

LEX File Exchange EA Support Files
SC4 Wikipedia Network Addon Mod
Dependencies Chat

Author Topic: FLexible UnderPasses (FLUPs)  (Read 189447 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline carkid1998

  • Forums Governor
  • *
  • Posts: 350
  • Reputation: 0
  • That guy who likes Cars
Re: FLexible UnderPasses (FLUPs)
« Reply #40 on: January 02, 2009, 08:21:49 AM »
 ;D ;D ;D Coool!! love the work!!!!

Where will these additional downloads be available???
Sendona... Coming soon!

Offline allan_kuan1992

  • 3RR Team
  • Forums Governor
  • *
  • Posts: 472
  • Reputation: 0
Re: FLexible UnderPasses (FLUPs)
« Reply #41 on: January 03, 2009, 01:29:06 AM »
This forum is connected to an exchange... :D

And I believe you were asking more for a release date... and that... well... it'll be released when it's ready....

- Allan K

Offline Youcefk69

  • TSC Team
  • Forums Mayor
  • *
  • Posts: 232
  • Reputation: 1
  • GC Co-Admin
    • Génération City !
Re: FLexible UnderPasses (FLUPs)
« Reply #42 on: January 04, 2009, 04:33:21 AM »
Very good !

Will can we change the tunnels'type ?

Offline Sciurus

  • TSC Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2480
  • Reputation: 7
  • | Lorraine Cœur d'Acier |
Re: FLexible UnderPasses (FLUPs)
« Reply #43 on: January 04, 2009, 07:16:20 AM »
It's a very good idea, but can do the same thing with tunnels in mountains?
L'atelier d'architecture
* * * * * Longwy * * * * *

Offline gn_leugim

  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1145
  • Reputation: 4
  • EHA - Making houses for eUro!
  • CL:      ★★ SC4 ★★ General Contractor
Re: FLexible UnderPasses (FLUPs)
« Reply #44 on: January 04, 2009, 10:48:05 AM »
This forum is connected to an exchange... :D

And I believe you were asking more for a release date... and that... well... it'll be released when it's ready....

- Allan K

as NAM, as RHW, as TRAM.. and I could keep naming them ^^

Offline allan_kuan1992

  • 3RR Team
  • Forums Governor
  • *
  • Posts: 472
  • Reputation: 0
Re: FLexible UnderPasses (FLUPs)
« Reply #45 on: January 04, 2009, 02:52:53 PM »
well in brief the main project is the NAM... then the subprojects are:

NWM
RHW (and subtypes)
NWM (and subtypes)
GLR + T-RAM
FLUPs
SAM

And 3RR hosts these as well:
RAM
FAR
FARR
Rural Roads


In the end... there aren't too many projects underway right now... The vast number of networks touched by NAM creators makes it look like so. $%Grinno$%

@ Chrisim: I have to agree... the canal must only be a metre deep. :D  Good progress on the FLUPs however =)

I wonder... do you have any pics of rail FLUPs? Or FLUPs of other networks?

- Allan Kuan

Offline io_bg

  • Team EBLT
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2966
  • Reputation: 6
Re: FLexible UnderPasses (FLUPs)
« Reply #46 on: January 04, 2009, 03:16:23 PM »
The idea of those underpasses is great. &apls Too bad that you can't build anything above them &mmm (I hope someone will make some kind of overhanging parks or plazas)
Visit my MD, The region of Pirgos!
Last updated: 28 November


Offline j-dub

  • Everyday I'm just dubbing!
  • NAM Associates
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1937
  • Reputation: 10
  • H8ting ℛeaLife
    • I blame Discord for sink holes
Re: FLexible UnderPasses (FLUPs)
« Reply #47 on: January 04, 2009, 07:50:18 PM »
I know with custom lotting, there are custom buildings as props that already exist that can hang over bounds to do this. The thing is, these FLUPs pieces are only 1x1. In the case of buildings, that's what regular draggable tunnels can be used for. They can be dragged under buildings, but only if enough land is allowed on each end before hand.

Allan, before Chrisim made the Avenue over FLUPs piece, I had to put a Avenue over Underground Rail/Road piece to get the road traffic to move underneath, somehow FLUPs allowed compatibility of car traffic to transfer to rail, then car again to proceed. I also put a rail FLUPs piece over another rail, despite this was in the road tab ring, trains seemed to be pathed the same underneath, because they still were using the line, despite the road network underneath. Does that answer your question about other networks?

Also, you do have both the choice of American and Euro tunnel entrances.

Offline JoeST

  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2649
  • Reputation: 10
  • fbstj
  • CL: Not your average...
Re: FLexible UnderPasses (FLUPs)
« Reply #48 on: January 08, 2009, 06:39:01 AM »
Is it possible for you to add a draggable starter piece in, just for kicks and giggles :D

and also, Buddybud has said you can use his models for tunnels :)

joe
Copperminds and Cuddleswarms

Offline buddybud

  • NAM Team
  • Forums Governor
  • *
  • Posts: 337
  • Reputation: 10
Re: FLexible UnderPasses (FLUPs)
« Reply #49 on: January 08, 2009, 07:41:01 AM »
Yep...perfectly fine by me. I can't offer models but you're welcome to use the props that already exist. Models eaten by angry computer...argh.

Bud

ps.... have you thought of making an entrance like this. Steal the idea if it's workable. I never did get to try to path it or see if would even function efficiently.



You know come to think of it Blahdy used to have copies of these models including the underpass. I've been pming with him and  i'll see if he still has copies. I'll check for myself regardless and let you know if your interested....
« Last Edit: January 08, 2009, 09:58:39 AM by buddybud »

Offline JoeST

  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2649
  • Reputation: 10
  • fbstj
  • CL: Not your average...
Re: FLexible UnderPasses (FLUPs)
« Reply #50 on: January 08, 2009, 12:50:29 PM »
those are awesome ideas, maybe your underground-but-open pieces could be use as "alternative" tops for the FLUP pieces?
Copperminds and Cuddleswarms

Offline j-dub

  • Everyday I'm just dubbing!
  • NAM Associates
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1937
  • Reputation: 10
  • H8ting ℛeaLife
    • I blame Discord for sink holes
Re: FLexible UnderPasses (FLUPs)
« Reply #51 on: January 08, 2009, 02:45:42 PM »
Want to here something funny, I have unreleased big dig gmax renderings in my documents. Anyway a 1x1 FLUPs style entrances from Buddybud's props is a good idea.

Also doing a puzzle piece of the ground highway ramp immediately to FLUPs is a great idea, especially if it can be both on and off. Although the ground highways in my cities have shoulders not the walls.

Until then, heres a quick FLUPs tease...
« Last Edit: January 08, 2009, 03:29:43 PM by j-dub »

Offline SimNation

  • Forums Governor
  • *
  • Posts: 291
  • Reputation: 0
Re: FLexible UnderPasses (FLUPs)
« Reply #52 on: January 08, 2009, 03:20:04 PM »
I agree Buddybuds entrances should be used as well. I have been using them for ages and they are simply lovely both during the day and at night. Would add mor variety so the tunnel entrances as well.  :thumbsup:

Offline buddybud

  • NAM Team
  • Forums Governor
  • *
  • Posts: 337
  • Reputation: 10
Re: FLexible UnderPasses (FLUPs)
« Reply #53 on: January 08, 2009, 05:30:40 PM »
Until then, heres a quick FLUPs tease...

Smashing!!  :thumbsup:

Offline JoeST

  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2649
  • Reputation: 10
  • fbstj
  • CL: Not your average...
Re: FLexible UnderPasses (FLUPs)
« Reply #54 on: January 08, 2009, 05:35:11 PM »
Smashing!!  :thumbsup:
FLUPping Brilliant more like :D
Copperminds and Cuddleswarms

Offline z

  • BSC Team
  • Forums Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 4866
  • Reputation: 26
    • RTMT World Headquarters
  • CL: Detailman!
Re: FLexible UnderPasses (FLUPs)
« Reply #55 on: January 08, 2009, 11:47:21 PM »
Why not combine FLUPS with subways, such as they're used in the Big Dig?  All it would take would be one puzzle piece for the underground road to subway transition.  Then you would have the following new capabilities:

  • Draggable tunnels (including underwater)
  • Diagonal tunnels
  • The ability to build on top of the subway portion of the tunnel
  • The ability to lay tunnels under existing buildings
  • Road tunnels that cross city boundaries
  • Less need for specialized crossing pieces
  • Arbitrarily intersecting tunnels where traffic can switch directions
  • Tunnels that cross each other without intersecting

And if a subway portion of a tunnel is about to cross a subway line, you can just switch to the underground road puzzle pieces for the crossing.  The new puzzle piece would also allow much more flexibility to Big Dig tunnels, as they could use this method to cross subway lines.

Since all of this would require the creation of just one new puzzle piece, it would be fairly simple to add it while leaving all the current capabilities intact.  That way, the current system could be used exclusively by those who want to do so.

Offline shadd0w09

  • Forums Inhabitant
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Reputation: 0
Re: FLexible UnderPasses (FLUPs)
« Reply #56 on: January 09, 2009, 12:09:50 AM »
the one thing i would like to se add to flips is the big dig entrances that wouuld be good  &apls &apls :thumbsup:

Offline j-dub

  • Everyday I'm just dubbing!
  • NAM Associates
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1937
  • Reputation: 10
  • H8ting ℛeaLife
    • I blame Discord for sink holes
Re: FLexible UnderPasses (FLUPs)
« Reply #57 on: January 09, 2009, 12:47:17 AM »
That type of thing is intended for the RHW, but not 3.0 though. We could be talking about RHW having big dig entrances, but based off RHW pieces, then turning into FLUPs. However FLUPs is two ways underneath, versus the RHW. Going underneath would need to have parallel pathing under the other networks, since the ramps entering and exiting would. This talk of that, could be a project way into the future.

Offline z

  • BSC Team
  • Forums Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 4866
  • Reputation: 26
    • RTMT World Headquarters
  • CL: Detailman!
Re: FLexible UnderPasses (FLUPs)
« Reply #58 on: January 09, 2009, 01:31:53 AM »
Unless I'm mistaken, I think that what shad0w09 was saying was that my proposal would allow that now, which is true, and that he favored that.

Offline Jonathan

  • NAM Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2609
  • Reputation: 25
  • CL: Einstein, Jr. &scl()
Re: FLexible UnderPasses (FLUPs)
« Reply #59 on: January 09, 2009, 01:49:19 AM »
z, doing that would require a lot with a transit switch as you would be converting cars into subway traffic, so you'd either still get busses turning into cars at the end of the subway, or not be able to have buses down the subway.

Jonathan