Menu

LEX File Exchange
EA Support Files
SC4 Wikipedia
Network Addon Mod
Dependencies
Chat

Author Topic: Simmer's Lotting Lab.  (Read 382278 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Tyberius06

Re: Simmer's Lotting Lab.
« Reply #2420 on: January 25, 2020, 05:20:46 PM »
Woow Nick!

This looks really nice and the night view is amazing! Also thanks for releasing those beautiful lighthouses, they are fantastic additions to our game!

Keep up the good work!

- Tyberius
You may find updates about my ongoing projects into my development thread here at SimCity 4 Devotion: Tyberius Lotting Experiments
or over there on Simtropolis into the Tyberius (Heretic Projects) Lotting and Modding Experiments.
I'm also member of the STEX Custodian and working on different restoration projects on behalf of non-anymore-active custom content creators.
Current projects: WMP Restoration and SimCity Polska Restoration.
Member of the NAM Team and RTMT Team.

Offline Simmer2

  • Moderator
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1330
  • Total likes: 8987
  • Reputation: 20
  • If you build it, they will come.
  • CL:
    ══ Titan of Industry ══
Re: Simmer's Lotting Lab.
« Reply #2421 on: January 27, 2020, 10:22:14 PM »
Thanks Tibi

Bridge building is so satisfying..



Simmer2
________________________________________________________________________________

Offline kbieniu7

Re: Simmer's Lotting Lab.
« Reply #2422 on: January 28, 2020, 05:30:38 AM »
OH, it looks lovely! How it will work? IS it going to be an eye-candy overhanging plop or an actual functional bridge?
Thank you for visiting Kolbrów, and for being for last ten years!

Offline Kitsune

Re: Simmer's Lotting Lab.
« Reply #2423 on: January 28, 2020, 02:15:59 PM »
... well I could make it functioning. Although I dunno if simmer modeled it correctly.

Offline Simmer2

  • Moderator
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1330
  • Total likes: 8987
  • Reputation: 20
  • If you build it, they will come.
  • CL:
    ══ Titan of Industry ══
Re: Simmer's Lotting Lab.
« Reply #2424 on: January 28, 2020, 04:00:38 PM »
kbieniu7  Thank you. It is eye candy only.

Kitsune Too many polygons to make it functional. I like it in HD anyways.

A closer look.



Simmer2
________________________________________________________________________________

Offline eggman121

  • NAM Team
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1632
  • Total likes: 3025
  • Reputation: 28
  • CL:
    Mr. Smth
Re: Simmer's Lotting Lab.
« Reply #2425 on: January 28, 2020, 06:44:57 PM »
Awesome work Nick :thumbsup: &apls

It is indeed possible to make your Bridge functional with the DBE. I will describe the steps below...



Never mind the reskin in on this demonstration! I will show why later in this post.

So basically to get an orthogonal segment of the rail network you can do the following...

1) Draw over the road with the Rail network.

2) The network will be DTR as a default so you will have to override it to STR.

3) Once the water is put back in place you will have something like in the picture below...



Now here is why I was using the reskin...

I have made some RRW default to Reskin that can be overridden to STR as well as the default DTR as shown below...



For the bridge I recommend making it into pieces such as an end piece and a middle piece.

Thanks for all your great creations  &apls I hope the method I described was constructive for you?

-eggman121 (Stephen)

Offline Simmer2

  • Moderator
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1330
  • Total likes: 8987
  • Reputation: 20
  • If you build it, they will come.
  • CL:
    ══ Titan of Industry ══
Re: Simmer's Lotting Lab.
« Reply #2426 on: January 28, 2020, 11:25:45 PM »
Oh? Great Stephen  :thumbsup:

I will make a test lot with an offset model to see if it works.

To split it its no problems. I made it in 16m sections so its easy. I will just have to make adjustment to the metal texture so that it will not show repetitions.
I will also have to implement the LOD trick for adjacent plops... ;)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Going back a page or two I showed a render of this baby.

SM2 Longstone Lighthouse is now in the game.

I made the rock base with custom LODs for best visual. It can be plopped in any scenario.

1) On deep water.

2) On shallow water ( You can see the rock base)

3) On land

4) In between

5) On different terrain gradients so that more or less base will show according to terrain elevation.

Tons of possibilities..

















Simmer2
________________________________________________________________________________

Offline Simmer2

  • Moderator
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1330
  • Total likes: 8987
  • Reputation: 20
  • If you build it, they will come.
  • CL:
    ══ Titan of Industry ══
Re: Simmer's Lotting Lab.
« Reply #2427 on: January 30, 2020, 11:44:40 AM »
Still playing around with my STR bridge.

Here is a prototype.
.

.

.


Simmer2
________________________________________________________________________________

Offline PaPa-J

  • Forums Governor
  • *
  • Posts: 355
  • Total likes: 379
  • Reputation: 0
  • Of course it's legal, why wouldn't it be?
Re: Simmer's Lotting Lab.
« Reply #2428 on: February 01, 2020, 04:02:26 PM »
Love what you have been doing lately SM2.  The bridge is going to be awesome!
Lighten up, just enjoy life,
smile more, laugh more,
and don't get so worked up
about things.

Offline fantozzi

Re: Simmer's Lotting Lab.
« Reply #2429 on: May 08, 2020, 03:45:05 AM »
I'm getting a little nervous, sorry. Hope you are fine. Please stay healthy!  :sunny:

Offline CT14

Re: Simmer's Lotting Lab.
« Reply #2430 on: July 12, 2020, 09:40:24 PM »
Hi @Simmer2,
I released a pack of I-M fillers which use your Chain Link and Dirty Concrete fences, as well as some other props from SM2 Vol 1, 2. These fillers were teased in some pictures from the past but never released anywhere yet. Thanks for the great props!

« Last Edit: July 12, 2020, 09:42:30 PM by CT14 »