Menu

LEX File Exchange
EA Support Files
SC4 Wikipedia
Network Addon Mod
Dependencies
Chat

Author Topic: PIM-X Bug on Win7 SP1 - Fixed!  (Read 30946 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline CasperVg

  • Administrator
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2885
  • Total likes: 416
  • Reputation: 47
  • CL:
    The Go-To Guy!!
PIM-X Bug on Win7 SP1 - Fixed!
« on: January 04, 2012, 12:27:01 AM »
PIM-X Windows 7 SP1 Bug - Fixed!

Hi everyone,

I managed to track down the problem to a single file used by PIM-X (and also other Python-based  applications, by the way) that somehow becomes corrupted with Windows 7 SP1.
As a result, PIM-X failed to load under Win7 SP1, producing a load of error reports instead.

However, replacing the file named "multiarray.pyd" in the PIM-X Program Files directory with an identical, but recompiled version solves the problem completely, as it removes the corruption, so PIM-X will load once again!

An official patch for PIM-X on Win7 SP1 will be released soon on the LEX, but in the meantime I have attached the file below.

Install Instructions
1. Unzip the attached file
2. Place the file named 'multiarray.pyd' in your C:\Program Files\SC4PIM directory (or C:\Program Files (x86)\SC4PIM if you're on a 64-bit system)
3. If it asks to overwrite the old file, click YES.
4. That's it, you should be able to run SC4PIM flawlessly now!

F.A.Q.
1. Do I need this patch if I'm using Windows Vista, Windows XP or earlier?
--> No, you do not need it if your SC4PIM is working fine. It doesn't contain any new functionality, so I would say "never change a winning team" :)

2. Does this patch work for 64-bit as well as 32-bit systems?
--> Yes, it has been confirmed to work on both 64- and 32-bit setups.

3. My SC4PIM still doesn't work after replacing the file.
--> Feel free to post below or in the PIM-X Official Support Thread if you still experience any malfunctioning, but most likely the problem has a different source.

Of course, also make sure to install the required DLLs, mentioned in the SC4PIM Support Thread to the application directory. Without them, SC4PIM won't work (even with this patch)!

Hope it works for you!
« Last Edit: September 13, 2018, 03:04:54 AM by CasperVg »
Follow my SimCity 4 Let's play on YouTube

Offline Pat

  • when life tosses you lemons, make lemonade!
  • 3RR Team
  • Forums Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 8812
  • Total likes: 6
  • Reputation: 45
  • SC4D Podcast, You Know You Wanna Hear IT!!!!
  • CL: ()pathfire() gettin' it right!
Re: PIM-X Bug on Win7 SP1 - Fixed!
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2012, 01:07:20 AM »
Hey Casper great catch there man  :thumbsup:

Don't forget the SC4D Podcast is back and live on Saturdays @ 12 noon CST!! -- The Podcast soon to Return Here Linkie

Offline FrankU

  • It's Frank, the U is just for the suspense
  • BeNeLux Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 3339
  • Total likes: 193
  • Reputation: 14
  • Dutch Housing Project
  • CL:
    U Grow It
Re: PIM-X Bug on Win7 SP1 - Fixed!
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2012, 05:25:09 AM »
Hi Casper,

This is really very very good news! Who did find this out? Who is worth receiving at least one karma point?
And also: does this mean there is also a solution to the Terrafromer problems?

Offline CasperVg

  • Administrator
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2885
  • Total likes: 416
  • Reputation: 47
  • CL:
    The Go-To Guy!!
Re: PIM-X Bug on Win7 SP1 - Fixed!
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2012, 06:15:54 AM »
I have never personally encountered this issue on SC4 Terraformer (it always ran fine on my Win7 SP1 64bit, without changes (same for Datpacker, Cleanitol etc)). But if you're talking about this thread/problem. Then yes, it could probably be solved in a similar way. Can you try adding multiarray.pyd to your SC4TF program files directory and see if that solves anything?

Contrary to SC4PIM though, there is no multiarray.pyd in the program folder of SC4TF itself. But the library.zip (which can't be edited afaik) does contain it.


Hope it helps,
Casper
(it was me who found the solutions btw ;)
« Last Edit: January 04, 2012, 06:27:47 AM by CasperVg »
Follow my SimCity 4 Let's play on YouTube

Offline FrankU

  • It's Frank, the U is just for the suspense
  • BeNeLux Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 3339
  • Total likes: 193
  • Reputation: 14
  • Dutch Housing Project
  • CL:
    U Grow It
Re: PIM-X Bug on Win7 SP1 - Fixed!
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2012, 06:51:49 AM »
Casper,

I must admit I never even tried to open Terraformer since I have my Win7 x64 machine, so I don' t personally bother about this, but Iread here and there that there were problems. Like Brechtje who was making a very detailed map of the northern and soutern Netherlands (meaning Belgium and Netherlands) and who quit, as far as I know, because of this issue.

So maybe I am completely wrong in this matter.  &mmm

Offline CasperVg

  • Administrator
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2885
  • Total likes: 416
  • Reputation: 47
  • CL:
    The Go-To Guy!!
Re: PIM-X Bug on Win7 SP1 - Fixed!
« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2012, 07:08:09 AM »
Well, since the traceback from the bigro's problem with SC4TF:

Code: [Select]
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "SC4Terraformer.py", line 4, in ?
  File "SC4TerraformerApp.pyo", line 76, in ?
      File "datReader.pyo", line 8, in ?
      File "Numeric.pyo", line 91, in ?
  ImportError: DLL load failed: The parameter is incorrect.

Is pretty much the same as the error everyone was getting with SC4PIM:

Code: [Select]
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "SC4PIM.py", line 1, in ?
  File "SC4PIMApp.pyo", line 117, in ?
  File "SC4IconMakerDlg.pyo", line 7, in ?
  File "SC4Data.pyo", line 2, in ?
  File "S3DReader.pyo", line 2, in ?
  File "S3DViewer.pyo", line 3, in ?
  File "Numeric.pyo", line 91, in ?
  File "multiarray.pyo", line 12, in ?
  File "multiarray.pyo", line 10, in
__loadImportError: DLL load failed: The parameter is incorrect.

Means you might not be wrong on this matter at all.

Clearly, both problems are pretty similar; as both are caused by an incorrect parameter (apparently caused by the multiarray.pyo corruption) and called by Numeric.pyo, a (by now deprecated, according to the interwebs) Python plugin that can handle complex mathematical calculations and matrices, arrays etc. However, the biggest discrepancy between both cases is that SC4PIM worked for no-one once they had installed Win7 SP1, while it seems SC4TF only malfunctions for a select (but still significant) group of users using Win7 SP1 (or even 'vanilla' Win7 ?).

I guess that means we can't be sure wether placing multiarray.pyd in the SC4TF Program Files directory will fix the issues, but it would be worth a shot - so I would like to do a warm request to anyone who's having similar issues with SC4Terraformer: please, try placing multiarray.pyd (available in the thread header) in your SC4TF Program Files folder and report back wether it works.

Greetings,
Casper
Follow my SimCity 4 Let's play on YouTube

Offline xannepan

  • BSC Team
  • Forums Senator
  • *
  • Posts: 731
  • Total likes: 1
  • Reputation: 15
  • CL:
    Renaissance Man!
Re: PIM-X Bug on Win7 SP1 - Fixed!
« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2012, 09:21:25 AM »
 &apls &apls &apls

Works perfect! Fantastic! Thank you!

Offline FrankU

  • It's Frank, the U is just for the suspense
  • BeNeLux Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 3339
  • Total likes: 193
  • Reputation: 14
  • Dutch Housing Project
  • CL:
    U Grow It
Re: PIM-X Bug on Win7 SP1 - Fixed!
« Reply #7 on: January 04, 2012, 02:33:45 PM »
Hi Casper,

Clicking on the link gives me a index.php file which is not what I am supposed to receive. Please help!

Offline catty

Re: PIM-X Bug on Win7 SP1 - Fixed!
« Reply #8 on: January 04, 2012, 02:51:53 PM »
Hi Casper,

Clicking on the link gives me a index.php file which is not what I am supposed to receive. Please help!

There is a bug in the site software, if you have firefox8, then any attachments will download as index.php, firefox7 is fine as is firefox9, you can download it using a different browser
I meant," said Ipslore bitterly, "what is there in this world that truly makes living worthwhile?" DEATH thought about it. "CATS," he said eventually, "CATS ARE NICE.

Offline vester

  • Administrator
  • Forums Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 4839
  • Total likes: 680
  • Reputation: 27
    • My bat cave.
  • CL: Tickets Please
Re: PIM-X Bug on Win7 SP1 - Fixed!
« Reply #9 on: January 04, 2012, 03:27:59 PM »
Upgrade to Firefox 9 and the problems is gone.

Offline carlfatal

Re: PIM-X Bug on Win7 SP1 - Fixed!
« Reply #10 on: January 04, 2012, 07:12:42 PM »
A big big thank you!  :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

Greetz, Carl

Offline FrankU

  • It's Frank, the U is just for the suspense
  • BeNeLux Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 3339
  • Total likes: 193
  • Reputation: 14
  • Dutch Housing Project
  • CL:
    U Grow It
Re: PIM-X Bug on Win7 SP1 - Fixed!
« Reply #11 on: January 05, 2012, 06:18:57 AM »
There is a bug in the site software, if you have firefox8, then any attachments will download as index.php, firefox7 is fine as is firefox9, you can download it using a different browser
Upgrade to Firefox 9 and the problems is gone.

I just did. It worked. Thanks. Sometimes it is so easy, but hard to find out....

Offline CasperVg

  • Administrator
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2885
  • Total likes: 416
  • Reputation: 47
  • CL:
    The Go-To Guy!!
Re: PIM-X Bug on Win7 SP1 - Fixed!
« Reply #12 on: January 06, 2012, 02:04:45 AM »
There is a bug in the site software, if you have firefox8, then any attachments will download as index.php, firefox7 is fine as is firefox9, you can download it using a different browser
Upgrade to Firefox 9 and the problems is gone.

I just did. It worked. Thanks. Sometimes it is so easy, but hard to find out....
Good to see you got it working ;)

I have good news for those who want to use the SC4 Savegame Explorer: the multiarray.pyd fix also works there!
Follow my SimCity 4 Let's play on YouTube

Offline ScottFTL

  • LEX Scrutineers
  • Forums Governor
  • *
  • Posts: 320
  • Total likes: 4
  • Reputation: 5
Re: PIM-X Bug on Win7 SP1 - Fixed!
« Reply #13 on: January 24, 2012, 09:47:44 PM »
This also worked for me.  I cannot thank you enough, Casper!  &apls

Offline namspopof

Re: PIM-X Bug on Win7 SP1 - Fixed!
« Reply #14 on: January 28, 2012, 08:19:14 AM »
Very BIGGGGGGGG Thanks !!!

PIMX is Back ! &apls &apls
STRATEGIUM ALLIANCE
The French site for strategic simulation in real time, member of French associative network Jeux-Stratégie.com
My BAT for SC4
ToutSimCitiesFrench site for SC4.

Offline gn_leugim

  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1145
  • Total likes: 116
  • Reputation: 4
  • EHA - Making houses for eUro!
  • CL:      ★★ SC4 ★★ General Contractor
Re: PIM-X Bug on Win7 SP1 - Fixed!
« Reply #15 on: January 28, 2012, 10:11:05 AM »
thank you very much :D

Offline StephenMotsinger

Re: PIM-X Bug on Win7 SP1 - Fixed!
« Reply #16 on: January 30, 2012, 08:08:19 PM »
This FIX WORKED PERFECTLY for me.. THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH!  Stephen

Offline Ol.S / Benoit

Re: PIM-X Bug on Win7 SP1 - Fixed!
« Reply #17 on: February 17, 2012, 08:02:58 AM »
Thanks a lot Casper ! Works perfectly :)
Benoit.
MD : Click on picture

Offline Cockatoo-210893

Re: PIM-X Bug on Win7 SP1 - Fixed!
« Reply #18 on: February 17, 2012, 06:27:41 PM »
Thanks very much!

Offline Jasoncw

Re: PIM-X Bug on Win7 SP1 - Fixed!
« Reply #19 on: February 18, 2012, 07:11:37 PM »
 &apls  &apls  &apls