Menu

LEX File Exchange EA Support Files
SC4 Wikipedia Network Addon Mod
Dependencies Chat

Author Topic: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread  (Read 116195 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Tarkus

  • Administrator
  • Forums Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 11336
  • Reputation: 70
  • NAM Team Tankadillo
    • NAM HQ
  • CL: Dr. PuzzlePiece
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #20 on: March 28, 2009, 05:03:55 PM »
tarkus, i think you'll find your textures need an overhaul.... :P

Fine by me if they end up looking that nice!  :o :D

-Alex

Offline buddybud

  • NAM Team
  • Forums Governor
  • *
  • Posts: 337
  • Reputation: 10
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #21 on: March 28, 2009, 05:13:43 PM »
i tried the network version in software mode and it seemed fine...but ill get some instructions up to so others can tackle and consider the pro's and con's or whatever flaws may exist.

Bud

Offline wouanagaine

  • NHP Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2854
  • Reputation: 43
  • CL: :computer: SC4 CodeMaster
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #22 on: March 28, 2009, 05:31:53 PM »
If the zoom5 is the only one that can be done, then I think a HD mod can be provided. A file containing only that zoom5 with the same TGI as the 'normal' version can be provided, so the user will be the one who will choose. If he got enough CPU/GPU/RAM power, then he will certainly choose the HD version, while someone with a less powerfull PC will just delete the HD version and so reverting back to normal texture

Another good point, is that as only the zoom 5 texture can be bigger, is that it is the only one texture creators will have to edit :)
New Horizons Productions
Berethor ♦ beskhu3epnm ♦ blade2k5 ♦ dmscopio ♦ dedgren ♦ emilin ♦ Ennedi ♦ Heblem ♦ jplumbley
M4346 ♦ moganite ♦ Papab2000 ♦ Shadow Assassin ♦ Tarkus ♦ wouanagaine
Divide wouanagaine by zero and you will in fact get one...one bad-ass that is - Alek King of SC4

Offline buddybud

  • NAM Team
  • Forums Governor
  • *
  • Posts: 337
  • Reputation: 10
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #23 on: March 28, 2009, 05:46:11 PM »
tools needed (working knowledege required)

eagraph.exe
sc4tool for other zoom levels.
photoshop or equivalent????????.
reader


Ok here's the gist of it. You want to work initially with a 256x256. The only rule to follow is that, if you want transparent areas for an
overlay, make sure that these areas are completely cut out and have a transparent background set. Otherwise just make it as detailed as possible.
Save a copy as a psd (photoshop format) file (other formats may work??????). Then proceed to reduce the image size down to the regular 128x128 if you need other zoom levels. If you do at this point go into SC4Tool and make your textures as per usual with all zoom levels if needed. We will be replacing the 5th zoom lvl manually after.

now after you save your texture dat in sc4 tool open up your 256x256 psd file in the eagraphics tool. If the texture has no transparency skip to the second step.

step 1  if you have a transparent area note that it now appears white. left click on the paint bucket tool. Right click over the white area and fill it with black which is the default left click color. Do so for all transparent regions. Next click on Colors Button then pick Edit Transparency. Make sure the rgb values are 0,0,0 and the opacity set to 0. click apply and save settings if need be. This will bring you back to your texture again.

Step 2. click file then save as. Pick fsh as the format and give it a name. leave the header alone, pick 32 bit, do not pack data. put none for compression and "use source" for transparency. We will be compressing when we import to reader. press save.

step 3 open your texture dat into reader. simply right click and pick incert and compress file. remove the original zoom 5 and give the new texture the same tgi or give it the tgi you want to overwrite.

test in game.

p.s. We got our first error. though i don't know the details yet...but it's the ugly boxes on a monorail str piece.

below is the road sample.....load last replaces 1x1 plaza... .
« Last Edit: March 28, 2009, 06:09:56 PM by buddybud »

Offline mightygoose

  • 3RR Team
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1885
  • Reputation: 12
  • duck duck....
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #24 on: March 28, 2009, 06:13:14 PM »
Interesting find. :) However, does it work properly in Software Mode? Quite a few people have to use it because of driver problems and the like, and so far, extra large textures often caused problems (the red-green-blue checkerboard pattern).

i think i may have steamed straight in, strange though, in the first picture in this thread there is a 256x256 texture on the monorail end piece in the background, but now ive upgraded the main piece, im getting the checkerboard...



still looking into it...
NAM + CAM + RAM + SAM, that's how I roll....

Offline Tarkus

  • Administrator
  • Forums Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 11336
  • Reputation: 70
  • NAM Team Tankadillo
    • NAM HQ
  • CL: Dr. PuzzlePiece
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #25 on: March 28, 2009, 06:24:31 PM »
still looking into it...

I'd suggest checking the Group ID on the texture.

Here's my first little experiment with the hi-res stuff myself on the RHW-4 textures--I rather like how it turned out! 



I have a hunch that the game is simply using the 256x256 for all view levels as opposed to relying on the farther-out textures, from the looks of things.


-Alex

Offline mightygoose

  • 3RR Team
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1885
  • Reputation: 12
  • duck duck....
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #26 on: March 28, 2009, 06:27:38 PM »
i dont think so as the texture wont appear in the LE unless the other four are present....
NAM + CAM + RAM + SAM, that's how I roll....

Offline Blue Lightning

  • NAM Team
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1098
  • Reputation: 16
  • AKA Wahrheit
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #27 on: March 28, 2009, 06:29:02 PM »
Wow, the RHW-4 textures look even better in HD!
I like this discovery already :P
And MG, check your GID, I've had that happen to me before.

Vince
Also known as Wahrheit

Occasionally lurks.

RHW Project

Offline Tarkus

  • Administrator
  • Forums Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 11336
  • Reputation: 70
  • NAM Team Tankadillo
    • NAM HQ
  • CL: Dr. PuzzlePiece
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #28 on: March 28, 2009, 06:33:03 PM »
i dont think so as the texture wont appear in the LE unless the other four are present....

Theoretically, if the other four are being used, the texture should look the same as with the standard 128x128 method when you're in Zooms 1-4.  I have a feeling you're right that it still needs the 0-3 textures in place in order to function properly, but the game appears to be rendering everything off the 256x256 texture and ignore the others.

The nice thing about this is that most of my RHW textures were originally done in vector graphics.  I can re-use the vector sources and upsize them to 256x256 without any degradation. ;)

-Alex

Offline Ryan B.

  • 3RR Team
  • Forums Senator
  • *
  • Posts: 938
  • Reputation: 7
  • SC4D's PA Announcer
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #29 on: March 28, 2009, 06:50:55 PM »
Alex, maybe it's my eyes, but I can't tell the difference between SD and HD RHW textures.

Could you post a picture of the SD RHW side-by-side, please?

Thanks!

Offline buddybud

  • NAM Team
  • Forums Governor
  • *
  • Posts: 337
  • Reputation: 10
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #30 on: March 28, 2009, 06:59:11 PM »

just to show the finer resolution carefully compare the tracks.......i could not achieve that with 128x128 pixels

Offline mightygoose

  • 3RR Team
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1885
  • Reputation: 12
  • duck duck....
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #31 on: March 28, 2009, 07:06:34 PM »
back in business....




NAM + CAM + RAM + SAM, that's how I roll....

Offline Haljackey

  • NAM Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2458
  • Reputation: 15
  • CL: King of the Road
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #32 on: March 28, 2009, 07:07:55 PM »
Whoa we have rumble strips once again!  Nice work with the model Alex!

And that El-rail.. OMG its amazing!  So much detail!   :'(  Wow!

Offline Nexis4Jersey

  • Forums Senator
  • *
  • Posts: 667
  • Reputation: 0
    • My youtube Ch !
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #33 on: March 28, 2009, 07:24:58 PM »
one question , can this new discovery be implemented into the whole game as one or more overhaul mods?  you know to completely change the existed textures to HD ? ()what()

Offline sithlrd98

  • BSC Team
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1310
  • Reputation: 8
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #34 on: March 28, 2009, 07:28:40 PM »
Oh my....this is very exciting! Too bad I can't find my EA tools that I got a while back(found this link as the link in the first post is dead?)
But you better get it fast since Filefront is closing on the 30th!

http://downloads.soccergaming.com/complete.php?id=00003056


Jayson

Offline toxicpiano

  • Forums Governor
  • *
  • Posts: 336
  • Reputation: 0
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #35 on: March 28, 2009, 07:31:06 PM »
Interesting discovery indeed! Good job guys.
I find that alcohol, taken in sufficient quantities, can bring about all the effects of drunkenness.

Offline buddybud

  • NAM Team
  • Forums Governor
  • *
  • Posts: 337
  • Reputation: 10
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #36 on: March 28, 2009, 07:31:40 PM »
Quote
one question , can this new discovery be implemented into the whole game as one or more overhaul mods?  you know to completely change the existed textures to HD ?

so far we have been successful with network textures, base textures and overlays...and also swamper said it can be done with automata.....don't think anything can be done about bats though....

thanx sthlrd98

Bud

Offline Rayden

  • BSC Team
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1261
  • Reputation: 13
  • Call me Silvio
  • CL: ()CaMsTeR()
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #37 on: March 28, 2009, 07:45:01 PM »
I've used 256x256 and even 512x512 in rock and water mods.

Offline Ennedi

Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #38 on: March 28, 2009, 07:47:34 PM »
This is really a revolutionary discovery, thanks guys!  &apls

1. So maybe we can expect (at last!) an acceptable quality in Zoom 6 (ie the closest, pixelated one)?  ;)
2. This also opens new possibilities for terrain textures.

Adam

Edit: I just read Silvio's reply, great minds think alike  :D
Edit 2: Silvio, if you use 512x512 - what about the area covered by the texture, is it the same as previously 256x256 ie we get more details?
« Last Edit: March 28, 2009, 07:49:18 PM by Ennedi »
New Horizons Productions
Berethor - beskhu3epnm - blade2k5 - dmscopio - dedgren - Emilin - Ennedi
jplumbley - moganite - M4346 - nichter85 - papab2000 - Shadow Assassin - Tarkus - wouanagaine

Offline Rayden

  • BSC Team
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1261
  • Reputation: 13
  • Call me Silvio
  • CL: ()CaMsTeR()
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #39 on: March 28, 2009, 07:50:39 PM »
This is really a revolutionary discovery, thanks guys!  &apls

1. So maybe we can expect (at last!) an acceptable quality in Zoom 6 (ie the closest, pixelated one)?  ;)
2. This also opens new possibilities for terrain textures.

Adam

Edit: I just read Silvio's reply, great minds think alike  :D
Edit 2: Silvio, if you use 512x512 - what about the area covered by the texture, is it the same as previously 256x256 ie we get more details?

 :thumbsup:

It gives you more detail, like MG said, it looks like the bigger zoom it used for the other zooms and what we used to do by shrinking the fsh by 50% for each zoom, ie. 128, 64, 32 ,16 8, the game graphics dod it for you. What I have noticed is, if you set for instance, a texture of 8x8 or 16x16 for the furthest zoom, the texture is zoomed and it blurs, being the final details completely blured. I'm using now or 256 or 512 for the max zoom and 50% less for all the others. If I have a texture 512x512, I use it for zoom 5, and for 4, 3, 2 and 1, I use hafl of that, 256x256.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2009, 07:56:45 PM by Rayden »