Menu

LEX File Exchange
EA Support Files
SC4 Wikipedia
Network Addon Mod
Dependencies
Chat

Author Topic: CityMania  (Read 98209 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lowkee33

Re: CityMania
« Reply #400 on: December 25, 2010, 11:30:32 PM »
Works fine on my computer. :)  640x480 and fastest graphics.  The fan started running on this Inspiron 2650.
 
I really can't say anything about the programing.

Offline Nique

  • Moderator
  • Forums Governor
  • *
  • Posts: 288
  • Total likes: 0
  • Reputation: 6
  • The dutch will do it ;)
Re: CityMania
« Reply #401 on: December 26, 2010, 06:21:45 AM »
It takes only 22mb of my memory here.
And yes, it takes up 100% cpu usage (25% on a quad core processor), of course it is not fine tuned. It should only update max 60 times a second (as you wont see the difference), the game-loop runs ~1500 times a seconds right now (so your processor has to do a lot of work). This explains why your fan starts running ;). Although .. The same happens when you run SC4... (not optimzed either).

We need to support multi core processors. I made this with Unity. Not that much of work .. but it shows that it is possible these days.. at least to clone the SC4 game itself.. with all the tools available. The biggest problem is, that most of us do not want a 'clone' but a next-gen game. And that is something we simply can't do..

For a sc4 clone i don't think we have to hire a set of 20 people to design models as this forum has enough 'artists' who want to share buildings too ;).





« Last Edit: December 26, 2010, 07:43:13 AM by Nique »
Proudly developer of

Offline Nique

  • Moderator
  • Forums Governor
  • *
  • Posts: 288
  • Total likes: 0
  • Reputation: 6
  • The dutch will do it ;)
Re: CityMania
« Reply #402 on: December 26, 2010, 07:32:45 AM »
This vid gives me hope for procedural stuff.. :)

http://www.youtube.com/user/3DisFuntastic#p/u/5/jOLhnwllpgs

(Constructive solid geometry). Maybe something for Tomkeus with his Construction Layer Protoype)
« Last Edit: December 26, 2010, 07:51:04 AM by Nique »
Proudly developer of

Offline Ciuu96

  • NAM Associates
  • Forums Mayor
  • *
  • Posts: 199
  • Total likes: 0
  • Reputation: 0
  • Indeed.
Re: CityMania
« Reply #403 on: December 26, 2010, 08:10:11 AM »
Wow, the demo is great, really looks like SC4. :thumbsup: Works fine on my laptop (specs here) with best graphics and 1024x768 resolution.

3D isn't so important for me at least, it would just slow down the game and wouldn't actually offer so much, IMO SC4 has better graphics than Cities XL even though (and because) it isn't 3D. The grid is the only thing bothering me, it's really annoying when for example FAR roads take 3x2 tiles space.

Also, would it be possible to export the current SC4 buildings to this clone? Maybe we could just take pictures of buildings in-game in every angle and then cut the actual buildings from the pictures and finally use these pictures as buildings in this clone. Copyrights could be a problem, though.

Video about procedural roads is awesome, if something like that would actually make it's way to CityMania, CM would probably be the best city building game ever made.  :)
Has it really been almost 2 years?
Must return. :)

Offline Lowkee33

Re: CityMania
« Reply #404 on: December 28, 2010, 04:22:54 PM »
Dell Inspiron 2650.  Let's just say that it's selling point was that it is laptop that can play a DVD on a secondary monitor, and still function on the main screen!.  In SC4 language, it can play medium tiles with no trees or shadows.  City Detail? It's worth it.

Edit: Oh, and it cost $2000 in 2001.

Offline WC_EEND

  • BeNeLux Team
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1471
  • Total likes: 3
  • Reputation: 0
  • biggest Top Gear addict on SC4D
Re: CityMania
« Reply #405 on: January 01, 2011, 09:38:25 AM »
works fine on on my laptop as well (1920x1080 resolution with best graphics)
RIP Adrian (adroman), you were a great friend

My LOT thread                                    

SCAG BAe146/Avro RJ Project

Offline netmod

  • Forums Mayor
  • *
  • Posts: 156
  • Total likes: 0
  • Reputation: 0
  • Insert Name Here
Re: CityMania
« Reply #406 on: January 02, 2011, 01:44:20 PM »
Works fine on my laptop with best graphics and 1024x768 resolution. Specs
mooooooooooooooooo...

Offline j-dub

  • Everyday I'm just dubbing!
  • NAM Associates
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1942
  • Total likes: 25
  • Reputation: 10
  • H8ting ℛeaLife
    • I blame Discord for sink holes
Re: CityMania
« Reply #407 on: January 12, 2011, 11:04:38 PM »
I'm interested in this. Not making a given guarentee, but how would I port buildings into this game?

Offline croxis

Re: CityMania
« Reply #408 on: January 13, 2011, 09:15:47 PM »
Glad to see the work has resumed.

Offline mwfontes

  • Forums Inhabitant
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Total likes: 0
  • Reputation: 0
  • Your slogan here
Re: CityMania
« Reply #409 on: August 13, 2011, 10:56:24 AM »
Hello, there!

Straight up: I love games, love city building games and would love to help.

I have no C# programming skills, but I can do html/java/php/flash actionscript and work with advanced photoshop for textures, interface and also with 3D.

Let me know if there is anything I can do to this awesome project!