SC4D Homepage
BSC File Exchange
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

 

News:

Our Of Special Interest This Month section returns for November's SC4D 10th birthday!


Author Topic: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE  (Read 577164 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline nickWtn

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3960 on: December 27, 2016, 09:46:39 PM »
Hello this is my first time posting here, so I apologize if something goes wrong. I have just installed NAM 35, over NAM 34 and I have a problem. It appears that the other elevated ramps (can't think of what their called, I believe there under the flex hight) are missing. I've including some horrible picture of what I do have bellow. I have tried installing it twice now and the problem is still unsolved. I will say that up to NAM 35 I've never had an issue with NAM before, and I hope you can solve this. http://m.imgur.com/Jt4MMjQ,H4F88CX,8hfT14O

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3960 on: December 27, 2016, 09:46:39 PM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline Tarkus

  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 10409
  • Country: us
  • Total likes: 1158
  • Reputation: 64
  • Gender: Male
  • RIP Keith Emerson and Greg Lake
    • NAM HQ
  • CL: Dr. PuzzlePiece
Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3961 on: December 27, 2016, 09:55:28 PM »
The button you're referring to is the Deprecated Height Transitions.  They're no longer installed by default--haven't been since at least NAM 33--and have to be explicitly selected in the installer.

-Alex

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3961 on: December 27, 2016, 09:55:28 PM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline nickWtn

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3962 on: December 27, 2016, 10:12:19 PM »
Wait. I found what I think I meant In a video review for NAM 32, in there it's called RealHighway Hight Transition. Is that the same thing? if so I remember it being in using them in NAM 34, and I just did the standard complete install then, what do I need to do now? 
 
« Last Edit: December 27, 2016, 10:24:02 PM by nickWtn »

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3962 on: December 27, 2016, 10:12:19 PM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline Tarkus

  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 10409
  • Country: us
  • Total likes: 1158
  • Reputation: 64
  • Gender: Male
  • RIP Keith Emerson and Greg Lake
    • NAM HQ
  • CL: Dr. PuzzlePiece
Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3963 on: December 27, 2016, 10:39:17 PM »
Yes, those are exactly the same thing.  They've since become more or less obsolete (save for the Curved MIS Transition, which will be replaced down the line) and aren't recommended for use anymore, due to the fact that the FLEX Height Transitions are much more capable.

You'll need to go into Custom Installation and select the checkbox for them.  You'll find the checkbox under "Additional Features and Customizations".  Go to where it says "Real Highway Options" (near the bottom of the whole list), click the "+" sign next to that point to expand the menu, and then check the box for "Legacy Deprecated Height Transitions".



-Alex

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3963 on: December 27, 2016, 10:39:17 PM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline nickWtn

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3964 on: December 27, 2016, 10:42:16 PM »
Thank you very much, was quite confused when I didn't see them, though I had messed something up.

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3964 on: December 27, 2016, 10:42:16 PM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline bon_joni

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3965 on: January 10, 2017, 09:48:41 PM »
I can't get NAM 35 to install on my Mac (OS El Capitan 10.11). This error comes up part way through installation, halting it every time.
"Extract: error writing to file
NetworkAddonMod_TurningLanes_OneWayRoadSignalization_Plugin.dat"

EDIT: SOLVED. Deleted NAM 35 and reinstalled using a different mirror.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2017, 12:50:45 PM by bon_joni »

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3965 on: January 10, 2017, 09:48:41 PM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline SimJack

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3966 on: January 17, 2017, 02:42:35 PM »
MAXIS HIGHWAY OVERRIDE question.

I have installed the new NAM 35 and everything works fine. I have not installed the MAXIS HIGHWAY OVERRIDE(MHO) but I'd like to. My question is:

I had not installed MHO on the previous NAM version and I've been using Maxis default highway in my cities; if I install MHO now, how will it affect my current network?


 

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3966 on: January 17, 2017, 02:42:35 PM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline Seaman

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3967 on: January 17, 2017, 03:15:41 PM »
if I install MHO now, how will it affect my current network?

it should be overridden automatically, so no worries. MHO does not override every prefab interchange (like the big 4-way) so you might want to replace them after you've installed the MHO.

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3967 on: January 17, 2017, 03:15:41 PM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline mgb204

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3968 on: January 17, 2017, 05:46:38 PM »
I had not installed MHO on the previous NAM version and I've been using Maxis default highway in my cities; if I install MHO now, how will it affect my current network?

One thing you really must consider is that retro-fitting a tight interchange made with MHY may be near-impossible with MHO in the same space. None of the intersections for MHY exist when using MHO, every one will need not only to be rebuilt, but made differently using either the limited range of MHO prefabs or by utilising the MIS system from the RHW. I'm not intending here to put you off, but you will likely need to make big changes and require more space to mirror your existing highways.

On the plus side, the highways themselves will automatically update, as will crossings and tunnels. Bridges won't, because MHO has very limited support for bridges, so again, these will likely need to be re-built. Depending on your use of MHY, it may be easier to use it when starting a new region. If you want to try things out, install the MHO and open some cities and you will soon get an idea of what I'm talking about here. Provided you don't save any cities during this time, you can revert back to MHY if you choose to at that point.

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3968 on: January 17, 2017, 05:46:38 PM »

Re: NAM 35 for MAC

Offline andyo

Re: NAM 35 for MAC
« Reply #3969 on: January 17, 2017, 10:22:43 PM »
Hello. I have downloaded NAM35 to my mac. In game some of the items are available like stations and ninja stops etc but none of the road options are there. When going to build roads there are only the 4 maxis selections. I believe I've compiled successfully so I do not know what is missing? Thank you in advance.

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM 35 for MAC
« Reply #3969 on: January 17, 2017, 10:22:43 PM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline Tarkus

  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 10409
  • Country: us
  • Total likes: 1158
  • Reputation: 64
  • Gender: Male
  • RIP Keith Emerson and Greg Lake
    • NAM HQ
  • CL: Dr. PuzzlePiece
Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3970 on: January 17, 2017, 11:56:23 PM »
Unfortunately, there isn't anyone active on the team right now who has any real experience installing the NAM on a Mac, so the support we can give you is pretty limited.  It sounds like you may have had the most basic option selected in the installer, or part of the package was installed to the wrong location.  The "right" location depends on whether you're running the App Store version or the Steam version--from what I have heard, they (confusingly) handle things differently. 

The Mac version installer is literally just the Windows version running in a Wineskin wrapper, so it's not particularly attuned to the Mac versions and their differences.

-Alex

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3970 on: January 17, 2017, 11:56:23 PM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline SimJack

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3971 on: January 18, 2017, 12:09:09 PM »
if I install MHO now, how will it affect my current network?

it should be overridden automatically, so no worries. MHO does not override every prefab interchange (like the big 4-way) so you might want to replace them after you've installed the MHO.


Thanks Seaman

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3971 on: January 18, 2017, 12:09:09 PM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline SimJack

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3972 on: January 18, 2017, 12:49:55 PM »
I had not installed MHO on the previous NAM version and I've been using Maxis default highway in my cities; if I install MHO now, how will it affect my current network?

One thing you really must consider is that retro-fitting a tight interchange made with MHY may be near-impossible with MHO in the same space. None of the intersections for MHY exist when using MHO, every one will need not only to be rebuilt, but made differently using either the limited range of MHO prefabs or by utilising the MIS system from the RHW. I'm not intending here to put you off, but you will likely need to make big changes and require more space to mirror your existing highways.


On the plus side, the highways themselves will automatically update, as will crossings and tunnels. Bridges won't, because MHO has very limited support for bridges, so again, these will likely need to be re-built. Depending on your use of MHY, it may be easier to use it when starting a new region. If you want to try things out, install the MHO and open some cities and you will soon get an idea of what I'm talking about here. Provided you don't save any cities during this time, you can revert back to MHY if you choose to at that point.

OK. I installed MHO. The Elevated Highway was overwritten but, the Ground Level Highway was not. Why is that?

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3972 on: January 18, 2017, 12:49:55 PM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline SimJack

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3973 on: January 18, 2017, 01:44:41 PM »
I fixed it. Forget my previous post :-)

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3973 on: January 18, 2017, 01:44:41 PM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline SimJack

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3974 on: January 18, 2017, 03:42:20 PM »
I can't get the Draggable Elevated Road Viaducts (Drag.ERD) to work. What am I missing?

Also, I can't find the RHW4 - Ground To Elevated Transition ON-OFF piece to make the intersection on the attached video.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3UGIFwgkHWY


Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3974 on: January 18, 2017, 03:42:20 PM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline mgb204

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3975 on: January 18, 2017, 05:19:22 PM »
To get the RHW4 Ground to Elevated transition, you must install the "Depreciated RHW Height Transitions". Note that these will not have been installed unless specifically selected during NAM's installation. The reason for this is that they have been replaced by the more flexible Flex-Height transitions. If you are looking to make a SPUI, elevated or otherwise, they do not work with the new Flex-Height transitions, but actually, you may find the SPUI doesn't work full-stop. Changes in NAM 33's code causes huge instability with SPUI interchanges, work is underway on the flexible SPUI replacements, but that might be a few versions off still. You can usually build the SPUI itself, but may find that the RHW networks running over/under them simply will not stabilise.

As for the Draggable Elevated Road Viaducts, can you explain what exactly isn't working as expected? Perhaps just detailing what steps you are taking might help to work out the problem? Otherwise, take a look at this video I made, it shows how to use them, perhaps that helps you to see what's going wrong?

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3975 on: January 18, 2017, 05:19:22 PM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline SimJack

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3976 on: January 19, 2017, 10:59:19 AM »
Thanks mgb204,

As far as the RHW4 Ground to Elevated Transition is concerned, it seems I need to use only simple intersections. You are right, the simpler the better.

As far as the Draggable Elevated Road Viaducts are concerned, they do not work at all. I need to drag an elevated road for about 20 tiles but, when I drag the road through the starter piece, it remains at ground level. I tried this with all starter pieces (road, avenue, OWR). I don't want to raise the ground because it will ruin the design.




Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3976 on: January 19, 2017, 10:59:19 AM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline XL2007

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3977 on: January 19, 2017, 01:56:16 PM »
Ok, so what's the deal with this bridge? (It's the RD-4 iron girder bridge)

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3977 on: January 19, 2017, 01:56:16 PM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline mgb204

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3978 on: January 19, 2017, 03:10:56 PM »
As far as the Draggable Elevated Road Viaducts are concerned, they do not work at all. I need to drag an elevated road for about 20 tiles but, when I drag the road through the starter piece, it remains at ground level. I tried this with all starter pieces (road, avenue, OWR). I don't want to raise the ground because it will ruin the design.

Can you confirm if you are building the elevated sections using an actual starter piece or the on-slope transitions? Whichever it is, does the other one work at all? If not, I think there must be some missing RUL2 code somewhere. The only solution for that is to re-run the NAM installer once more to add the missing code. Before you do though, check you don't have any outdated NAM files still knocking about in your plugins folder. I can also confirm these are all working fine for my game.

Ok, so what's the deal with this bridge? (It's the RD-4 iron girder bridge)

In the first instance the bridge is not the right one, it should look very similar to the RD-6 bridge. I think there may either be a conflict with another bridge or perhaps some other error in the bridge controller which is behind the issue. However this does appear to be an error/bug in the NAM, since it was working fine in NAM34. I'll try to get to the bottom of it, but this probably can't be fixed until NAM36 is released. Since there is only one RD-4 bridge in the NAM, the only workaround for the time being is using an Ave bridge and transitioning from Ave to RD-4 on either side.

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3978 on: January 19, 2017, 03:10:56 PM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline SimJack

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3979 on: January 20, 2017, 08:40:57 AM »
As far as the Draggable Elevated Road Viaducts are concerned, they do not work at all. I need to drag an elevated road for about 20 tiles but, when I drag the road through the starter piece, it remains at ground level. I tried this with all starter pieces (road, avenue, OWR). I don't want to raise the ground because it will ruin the design.

Can you confirm if you are building the elevated sections using an actual starter piece or the on-slope transitions? Whichever it is, does the other one work at all? If not, I think there must be some missing RUL2 code somewhere. The only solution for that is to re-run the NAM installer once more to add the missing code. Before you do though, check you don't have any outdated NAM files still knocking about in your plugins folder. I can also confirm these are all working fine for my game.

I removed the Elevated Road Network(ERN) folder from my plugins and re-installed NAM and the ERN works just fine.
Thanks mgb204  &apls &apls


Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3979 on: January 20, 2017, 08:40:57 AM »

 


If you experience visual glitches in our site, we strongly suggest you to use Firefox to browse the forums. Also a 1024*768 or higher resolution is highly recommended to view this site

Latest News

Our Of Special Interest This Month section returns for November's SC4D 10th birthday!

SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
TinyPortal © 2005-2011
SMFAds for Free Forums

Page created in 0.495 seconds with 106 queries.