SC4D Homepage
BSC File Exchange
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length


Author Topic: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE  (Read 715787 times)

0 Members and 4 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Jimmyson

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3940 on: December 04, 2016, 06:49:22 AM »
The NAM installer is supposed to read the registry entries for the game to determine drive side.  Everything I'm seeing is consistent with running an LHD game with an RHD NAM.  If you're using the shortcut switch approach to do the drive side change, it's possible that your registry entry may be set to RHD (which happened a lot with Australian copies of the game), and the installer is picking that up.  I'd try a reinstall, while explicitly selecting the LHD option (which isn't normally recommended).

-Alex

I am using the Steam version for SC4, so I utilise the "Shortcut Parameters" (-l:"UK English") to get the LHD setting.

Question about getting the installer to detect the setup. Is it normal to select which items to install? Cause from what you describe about the auto-select, is that it looks for existing files and registry settings to pick the "best" upgrade/install solution. Am I correct?

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3940 on: December 04, 2016, 06:49:22 AM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline bluepelican31

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3941 on: December 04, 2016, 09:22:38 AM »
Paths missing or not supported?

Thanks for all the hard work.

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3941 on: December 04, 2016, 09:22:38 AM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline mgb204

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3942 on: December 04, 2016, 09:26:19 AM »
Question about getting the installer to detect the setup. Is it normal to select which items to install? Cause from what you describe about the auto-select, is that it looks for existing files and registry settings to pick the "best" upgrade/install solution. Am I correct?

In short the installer checks the registry for your language setting. If it's a LHD country, the NAM installer will default to LHD. As a developer I switch between LHD/RHD a bit, requiring me to manually check the driving side. So long as this setting matches your game of SC4, everything will work fine, it doesn't make a difference how you get there. If you want auto-detect to always realise your game is LHD, you will need to alter your registry manually.

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3942 on: December 04, 2016, 09:26:19 AM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline Seaman

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3943 on: December 04, 2016, 06:06:32 PM »


I'm not sure whether STR under elevated ave 15m is supposed to be supported or not (STR under 7.5m elev ave definitely isn't). In case it is, there might be an issue? Paths seem to be correct.

RRW kicks ass!! It's amazing what you can do with rail these days  $%Grinno$%

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3943 on: December 04, 2016, 06:06:32 PM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline Jimmyson

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3944 on: December 07, 2016, 02:19:20 AM »
Question about getting the installer to detect the setup. Is it normal to select which items to install? Cause from what you describe about the auto-select, is that it looks for existing files and registry settings to pick the "best" upgrade/install solution. Am I correct?

In short the installer checks the registry for your language setting. If it's a LHD country, the NAM installer will default to LHD. As a developer I switch between LHD/RHD a bit, requiring me to manually check the driving side. So long as this setting matches your game of SC4, everything will work fine, it doesn't make a difference how you get there. If you want auto-detect to always realise your game is LHD, you will need to alter your registry manually.

I reinstalled NAM 35, after making a registry change (for good measure). Problem solved! Thanks :)

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3944 on: December 07, 2016, 02:19:20 AM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline Kitsune

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3945 on: December 12, 2016, 10:31:57 PM »
The flex track DTR D1 STR turns into FARR instead (even though FARR is unsupported according to the documenation):


Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3945 on: December 12, 2016, 10:31:57 PM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline eggman121

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3946 on: December 12, 2016, 11:43:16 PM »
The flex track DTR D1 STR turns into FARR instead (even though FARR is unsupported according to the documenation):

Indeed if you are using NAM 35 FARR is included at 3 angles. There is new documentation written for the new functionality which can be found in the RealRailway NAM 35 FlexTrack and FARR Manual in the NAM Auxiliary Files folder of your installation. If you are trying to make the D1 split the pattern resembles the D1 split for the RHW.

Hope that helps.

If you need any more information I am available to help

-eggman121

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3946 on: December 12, 2016, 11:43:16 PM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline Kitsune

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3947 on: December 13, 2016, 11:04:51 AM »
The NAM installer installed two different RRW documentations which led to the confusion.

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3947 on: December 13, 2016, 11:04:51 AM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline RDED

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3948 on: December 16, 2016, 01:02:29 PM »
Hi everyone

Just recently reinstalled the game and, of course, NAM 35 too. But I'm having a serious issue, since the traffic simulator won't let me save any configuration. When I click on "save" it says: "error deleting file(s). SimCity 4 is probably still running". But the game is not running.

I have seen someone else with the same problem in this thread, but no one seemed to answer him.

I have windows 7 (64b) and the latest version of java.

Thank you very much in advance.

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3948 on: December 16, 2016, 01:02:29 PM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline mgb204

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3949 on: December 16, 2016, 02:09:26 PM »
What happens if you reboot your computer and try to alter the TSCT settings before running SC4 or related applications, does it then work?

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3949 on: December 16, 2016, 02:09:26 PM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline RDED

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3950 on: December 16, 2016, 03:17:49 PM »
What happens if you reboot your computer and try to alter the TSCT settings before running SC4 or related applications, does it then work?

Still the same. It won't work. Thank you anyway

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3950 on: December 16, 2016, 03:17:49 PM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline mgb204

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3951 on: December 17, 2016, 01:31:07 AM »
That tells me there must be a permissions problem somewhere in Windows preventing you from modifying the necessary files. Try right clicking the shortcut to TSCT and selecting Run as Administrator, does this help?

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3951 on: December 17, 2016, 01:31:07 AM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline RDED

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3952 on: December 18, 2016, 01:16:50 PM »
That tells me there must be a permissions problem somewhere in Windows preventing you from modifying the necessary files. Try right clicking the shortcut to TSCT and selecting Run as Administrator, does this help?

No, but maybe it has something to do with that, because when running as admin the tool won't even open. The usual black window show up and then disapears right away without ever opening the tool.

By the way, I have noticed that I can actually save the configuration ONLY when choosing Base Network Capacity as Medium. Is it related in anyway with CAM?

Also, I downloaded the game from Steam. Maybe it is related.

Thank you again!
« Last Edit: December 18, 2016, 01:23:04 PM by RDED »

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3952 on: December 18, 2016, 01:16:50 PM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline vinlabsc3k

  • 🚄 NAM Lover ❤️
  • *
  • Posts: 393
  • Country: it
  • Total likes: 62
  • Reputation: 1
  • Gender: Male
  • Enjoy when u play. Play when u want.
    • Artful-xtra
Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3953 on: December 19, 2016, 03:05:31 AM »
Try to run in Compatibility Mode as Windows XP SP3. Sometimes works. ;)
My creation at CityBuilders.



SimCity 5 is here with the NAM Creations!!

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3953 on: December 19, 2016, 03:05:31 AM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline RDED

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3954 on: December 19, 2016, 01:19:58 PM »
Try to run in Compatibility Mode as Windows XP SP3. Sometimes works. ;)

This didn't work either  :(

But I found a way to get around it. I Cleared the file the TSCT was opening and made a new one from zero. This way it allowed me to change The Base Network Capacity and any other parameters and save it at least the first time with "High" as de BNC (wich was default, maybe it's thanks to that).

Anyway I hope this helps people with the same problem in the future and maybe find a bether solution.

Thanks everyone!

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3954 on: December 19, 2016, 01:19:58 PM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline XL2007

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3955 on: December 21, 2016, 01:26:46 AM »
No amount of clicking will get this 15m FLEXheight onslope ramp to transform properly, even with a fresh install of NAM 35.

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3955 on: December 21, 2016, 01:26:46 AM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline Tarkus

  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 10690
  • Country: us
  • Total likes: 1854
  • Reputation: 64
  • Gender: Male
  • NAM Team Tankadillo
    • NAM HQ
  • CL: Dr. PuzzlePiece
Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3956 on: December 21, 2016, 01:48:46 AM »
It looks like the overrides that create the L2 RHW-2 out of the base L0-L2 OnSlope are creating residual interference.  The inclusion of the default L1/L2 RHW-2 overrides has been the biggest stumbling block in stabilizing the other networks.  The ramp-style FLEX Height Transitions received a boatload of RUL2 code (around 100,000 lines) in NAM 35 to handle these situations, but the FLEX OnSlopes (and especially the L0-L2 OnSlopes) have not yet gotten these improvements.

Since there is a one-tile gap between the underpass and the actual transitions, you can demolish the Road, place L2 RHW-10S starters next to the elevated ends of all four OnSlopes, then rebuild the Road and drag the L2 RHW-10S over them.  This should produce the desired result.

Otherwise, it's going to take adding more code.

-Alex

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3956 on: December 21, 2016, 01:48:46 AM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline XL2007

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3957 on: December 21, 2016, 04:05:46 AM »
It looks like the overrides that create the L2 RHW-2 out of the base L0-L2 OnSlope are creating residual interference.  The inclusion of the default L1/L2 RHW-2 overrides has been the biggest stumbling block in stabilizing the other networks.  The ramp-style FLEX Height Transitions received a boatload of RUL2 code (around 100,000 lines) in NAM 35 to handle these situations, but the FLEX OnSlopes (and especially the L0-L2 OnSlopes) have not yet gotten these improvements.

Since there is a one-tile gap between the underpass and the actual transitions, you can demolish the Road, place L2 RHW-10S starters next to the elevated ends of all four OnSlopes, then rebuild the Road and drag the L2 RHW-10S over them.  This should produce the desired result.

Otherwise, it's going to take adding more code.

-Alex

That explains a lot. Your solution worked, but it wouldn't let me drag my road back underneath. Unless I excavate a few more tiles to give the starter some breathing room, I'll have to use the more stable L1 to get what I want.

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3957 on: December 21, 2016, 04:05:46 AM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline TJ1

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3958 on: December 25, 2016, 08:54:29 PM »
I haven't posted in a few years but I play SC4 often still, however I just put it on my Mac running OS Sierra and the game runs fine however the latest NAM for Mac isn't, when I load up a city with nam installed the game freezes everytime. But when I remove the Nam files the game and my cities run fine.

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3958 on: December 25, 2016, 08:54:29 PM »

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE

Offline Tarkus

  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 10690
  • Country: us
  • Total likes: 1854
  • Reputation: 64
  • Gender: Male
  • NAM Team Tankadillo
    • NAM HQ
  • CL: Dr. PuzzlePiece
Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3959 on: December 25, 2016, 11:16:05 PM »
Did you get the NAM Version 35 for Mac release off ModDB?  That's the only actually updated version out there.  Everything else is pretty much guaranteed not to work with Sierra.

-Alex

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: NAM Issues Thread - PLEASE POST YOUR NAM QUESTIONS AND PROBLEMS HERE
« Reply #3959 on: December 25, 2016, 11:16:05 PM »

 


If you experience visual glitches in our site, we strongly suggest you to use Firefox to browse the forums. Also a 1024*768 or higher resolution is highly recommended to view this site

SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
TinyPortal © 2005-2011
SMFAds for Free Forums

Page created in 0.401 seconds with 107 queries.