Menu

LEX File Exchange
EA Support Files
SC4 Wikipedia
Network Addon Mod
Dependencies
Chat

Author Topic: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread  (Read 122273 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ennedi

Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #40 on: March 28, 2009, 07:53:23 PM »
New Horizons Productions
Berethor - beskhu3epnm - blade2k5 - dmscopio - dedgren - Emilin - Ennedi
jplumbley - moganite - M4346 - nichter85 - papab2000 - Shadow Assassin - Tarkus - wouanagaine

Offline superhands

  • NAM Team
  • Forums Senator
  • *
  • Posts: 928
  • Total likes: 1
  • Reputation: 12
  • was bighead99
    • f u t u r e  p e r t h
  • CL: One Track Mind
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #41 on: March 28, 2009, 07:55:21 PM »
buddybud, goose great work.

out of interest, does it take say 200 x 200 pixels? or is it confined to 256. (for non model networks ie road)

dave

Offline mightygoose

  • 3RR Team
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1885
  • Total likes: 6
  • Reputation: 12
  • duck duck....
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #42 on: March 28, 2009, 07:57:57 PM »
[linkie] we are using this link..... buddybud and me tried 512, they work but you get compression errors on the image and it becomes pixelated.... he better go find the picture.....
NAM + CAM + RAM + SAM, that's how I roll....

Offline buddybud

Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #43 on: March 28, 2009, 08:00:18 PM »


 this is a base texture.....

bud

edit the top of this is 512
« Last Edit: March 28, 2009, 08:12:36 PM by buddybud »

Offline Swamper77

  • BSC Team
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1284
  • Total likes: 2
  • Reputation: 19
  • BSC Grease Monkey
    • Swamper's Twitter
  • CL: ()swamper77() BSC Mechanic
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #44 on: March 28, 2009, 08:03:12 PM »
512x512 images are viewable ONLY to the users that run SC4 with Hardware Rendering. Vester and I learned this the hard way with our automata.

Please keep things compatible for ALL users.

-Swamper
You can call me Jan, if you want to.
Pagan and Proud!

Offline Rayden

  • BSC Team
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1261
  • Total likes: 1
  • Reputation: 13
  • Call me Silvio
  • CL: ()CaMsTeR()
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #45 on: March 28, 2009, 08:05:32 PM »
Sorry, what's the eagraph.exe for? &mmm

512x512 images are viewable ONLY to the users that run SC4 with Hardware Rendering. Vester and I learned this the hard way with our automata.

Please keep things compatible for ALL users.

-Swamper

Oops, good to know that before something gets released that way, so far I've used just for myself.

Offline buddybud

Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #46 on: March 28, 2009, 08:11:16 PM »
thanx for the info swamper

good to know. :P

Offline mightygoose

  • 3RR Team
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1885
  • Total likes: 6
  • Reputation: 12
  • duck duck....
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #47 on: March 28, 2009, 08:11:54 PM »
512x512 images are viewable ONLY to the users that run SC4 with Hardware Rendering. Vester and I learned this the hard way with our automata.

Please keep things compatible for ALL users.

-Swamper

actually we decided against 512, too many compression errors... see all the black & white artefact pixels....

Sorry, what's the eagraph.exe for? &mmm


using it for direct PSD to FSH format conversion... and automatic alpha map creation.
NAM + CAM + RAM + SAM, that's how I roll....

Offline Rayden

  • BSC Team
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1261
  • Total likes: 1
  • Reputation: 13
  • Call me Silvio
  • CL: ()CaMsTeR()
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #48 on: March 28, 2009, 08:16:27 PM »
How is it used and where is it placed, does it need to be executed or Photoshop will do that when converting to fsh?

Sorry for asking so much?

Offline Ennedi

Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #49 on: March 28, 2009, 08:19:55 PM »
using it for direct PSD to FSH format conversion... and automatic alpha map creation.


Can't we use FishMan?
New Horizons Productions
Berethor - beskhu3epnm - blade2k5 - dmscopio - dedgren - Emilin - Ennedi
jplumbley - moganite - M4346 - nichter85 - papab2000 - Shadow Assassin - Tarkus - wouanagaine

Offline buddybud

Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #50 on: March 28, 2009, 08:23:35 PM »
Can't we use FishMan?

you'd have to try...i have no idea...i found this tool because i wanted to replace some irregular shaped textures in a rock plop mod.....you have to experiment!...but please let us know!! I've only ever used sc4tool before..

Bud
« Last Edit: March 28, 2009, 08:25:17 PM by buddybud »

Offline buddybud

Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #51 on: March 28, 2009, 08:29:32 PM »
How is it used and where is it placed, does it need to be executed or Photoshop will do that when converting to fsh?

Sorry for asking so much?


see page two there is a step by step explanation of the process...cheers


edit sorry for the double post  :(

Offline SimGoober

Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #52 on: March 28, 2009, 08:41:59 PM »
Hmmm ... I wonder what Cycledogg could do with this information....
When life just blows ... Fukitol!

Offline Haljackey

  • NAM Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2468
  • Total likes: 945
  • Reputation: 15
  • CL: King of the Road
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #53 on: March 28, 2009, 08:54:26 PM »
Just had a brainfart:

"This is like going from the NES to the Super Nintendo!"

The difference here is we are going from 128x128 to 256x256 pixels, not from 8-bit to 16-bit.  Interesting analogy eh?   ::)

Offline nerdly_dood

Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #54 on: March 28, 2009, 09:41:38 PM »
DUDE. this isn't like going from the NES to the Super Nintendo - thats what Dedgren's texture updates for rail are. If someone makes a full set of those hi-def textures Buddybud has there it's more like going from the NES to a Wii! Those are SHOCKINGLY realistic.  &apls
My days here are numbered. It's been great and I've had a lot of fun, but I've moved on to bigger and better things.
—   EGO  VOBIS  VADELICO   —
Glory be unto the modder and unto the fun and unto the city game!

Offline andreharv

Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #55 on: March 28, 2009, 09:56:12 PM »
Hmm...this will come in handy for new interchanges and puzzle pieces in the future.  I'm getting ideas. ()borg()

Offline XiahouDun

Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #56 on: March 28, 2009, 10:12:07 PM »
Hmmm ... I wonder what Cycledogg could do with this information....
... I think i just drooled some. That be... wow :lmao:
Current project: Movies 14

You may have meant to search for Houdini. (result of searching for XiahouDun on SC4D)

Offline carkid1998

  • Forums Governor
  • *
  • Posts: 350
  • Total likes: 0
  • Reputation: 0
  • That guy who likes Cars
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #57 on: March 29, 2009, 02:51:52 AM »

All hail the discoverer of this!!
Sendona... Coming soon!

Offline wouanagaine

  • NHP Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2854
  • Total likes: 7
  • Reputation: 43
  • CL: :computer: SC4 CodeMaster
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #58 on: March 29, 2009, 04:43:43 AM »
For terran texure, I think there are some properties in the terran examplar that dictate how much tiles a texture will cover.

New Horizons Productions
Berethor ♦ beskhu3epnm ♦ blade2k5 ♦ dmscopio ♦ dedgren ♦ emilin ♦ Ennedi ♦ Heblem ♦ jplumbley
M4346 ♦ moganite ♦ Papab2000 ♦ Shadow Assassin ♦ Tarkus ♦ wouanagaine
Divide wouanagaine by zero and you will in fact get one...one bad-ass that is - Alek King of SC4

Offline z

  • BSC Team
  • Forums Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 4866
  • Total likes: 25
  • Reputation: 26
    • RTMT World Headquarters
  • CL: Detailman!
Re: High Definition Props and Textures - Discussion thread
« Reply #59 on: March 29, 2009, 05:25:52 AM »
Definitely a wonderful discovery!  &apls   I am sure that a number of texture creators and transit modelers will be modifying their creations to take advantage of this new method.  I'd like to suggest that there be a thread where people can post which textures they've enhanced - maybe call it "High Definition Texture List".  I know that for the RTMT team, such a list would be invaluable, as it would allow us to easily convert our stations to use the higher definition textures when they become available.  And such a list would undoubtedly be used by many other developers as well.

For the list itself, if the textures are contained in released files, then the name of the file, the texture ID, and a short description would be useful.  Or instead of a texture ID, there could be an ID range, or simply the word "All."  This could easily fit on a single line.  If textures have been developed but not formally released, then a link to them could be furnished.