• Welcome to SC4 Devotion Forum Archives.

SC4PIM-X issue

Started by deanva, October 29, 2020, 06:43:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

deanva

When I try to drag something to the landmarks keep getting an error window and can not drag it al all. It is in the descriptors on the left menu but not in the resources area to drag it .

twalsh102

What does the error window say?

deanva

Traceback (Most recent call back):
  File "SC4PIMApp.pyo", line 3136, in OnBeginDrag
  File "SC4Data.pyo", line 50, in __getitem__
KeyError

Unless I am not allowed to drag from the descriptor to the landmark menu on the left side of scpim-x. It was created using lot editor which might be the reason and not with the BAT.

twalsh102

Deanva, just to make sure I'm not missing something here; While I'm not an expert in programming-speak, it looks like it's might be saying that you are trying to drag something that can't be dragged

In PIM-X, the only thing that can be dragged to any category under the Descriptors > Buildings menu is a model from one of the sub-folders under Resources. This will create a new Building Exemplar based on the model you drag. Is this what you are trying to do?

deanva

Any way to get a building back into the Resources once it has been place in the landmark menu?

twalsh102

Hi Deanva.
Nothing should ever be "moved" from the list of models.  As long as an .sc4model file is someplace in your Plugins folder, it should always show up in the list of models under Resources, no matter how many times you've used it. You are not limited to using any single model only once. The beauty of Models is that they can be used (or reused) for any type of building you wish. You could use a single model and create a building exemplar for a Landmark of some sort, a police station, a CS or CO building, a residential building, a hi-tech industrial building, or any other kind of building or combinations of buildings.