Menu

LEX File Exchange
EA Support Files
SC4 Wikipedia
Network Addon Mod
Dependencies
Chat

Author Topic: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread Version 5!  (Read 71510 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wouanagaine

  • NHP Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2854
  • Total likes: 7
  • Reputation: 43
  • CL: :computer: SC4 CodeMaster
SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread Version 5!
« on: January 13, 2013, 01:19:37 PM »

The new version of SC4Mapper is now available on the LEX

You can grab a copy on the LEX

A user guide is available here

You can ask for any help in this thread

Side note:
For people who think they will have to move their "Documents" folder, please PM me, I'll send you a link to a debug version that might help me understanding the problem before you move your Documents
« Last Edit: February 25, 2013, 03:50:16 AM by wouanagaine »
New Horizons Productions
Berethor ♦ beskhu3epnm ♦ blade2k5 ♦ dmscopio ♦ dedgren ♦ emilin ♦ Ennedi ♦ Heblem ♦ jplumbley
M4346 ♦ moganite ♦ Papab2000 ♦ Shadow Assassin ♦ Tarkus ♦ wouanagaine
Divide wouanagaine by zero and you will in fact get one...one bad-ass that is - Alek King of SC4

Offline wouanagaine

  • NHP Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2854
  • Total likes: 7
  • Reputation: 43
  • CL: :computer: SC4 CodeMaster
Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2013, 03:59:04 PM »
It seems I've uploaded a French installer

Sorry for the inconvenience. I will reupload an english one tomorrow

It is anyway a common installer, I hope you won't be lost by french sentences

Here are some translations in the meantimes.
'Suivant' => next
'Precedent' => back
'Quitter' => quit
'Annuler' => cancel
'Demarrer' => start
'Lancer SC4 Mapper 2013' => Start SC4 Mapper 2013
'Voir readme.html' => View readme.html


The english installer has been uploaded
« Last Edit: January 14, 2013, 01:51:43 AM by wouanagaine »
New Horizons Productions
Berethor ♦ beskhu3epnm ♦ blade2k5 ♦ dmscopio ♦ dedgren ♦ emilin ♦ Ennedi ♦ Heblem ♦ jplumbley
M4346 ♦ moganite ♦ Papab2000 ♦ Shadow Assassin ♦ Tarkus ♦ wouanagaine
Divide wouanagaine by zero and you will in fact get one...one bad-ass that is - Alek King of SC4

Offline Zsozso27

  • Forums Inhabitant
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Total likes: 0
  • Reputation: 0
  • Your slogan here
Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2013, 12:40:37 PM »
Hi,

I have just downloaded & installed SC4Mapper 2013 on Win 7 x64 and sadly can't start it.
Tried to remove it and reinstall it again, but it doesn't let me even an uninstallation.
Could not find an uninstall file in the installation directory either, only Uninstal.$$A,Uninstal.$$B,Uninstal.$$C.
Any ideas?  :)

Regards,
Zs.

Offline wouanagaine

  • NHP Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2854
  • Total likes: 7
  • Reputation: 43
  • CL: :computer: SC4 CodeMaster
Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2013, 01:54:15 PM »
To uninstall you should go to the Control Panel, Programs and Features, find SC4Mapper 2013 and choose uninstall
This is the way MS advise to provide users with uninstaller, sorry

What happen when you try to start it ? crash ? nothing ? Did you at least see the splash screen ?

What OS are you running it, what is the path to your MyDocuments folder ?
 
New Horizons Productions
Berethor ♦ beskhu3epnm ♦ blade2k5 ♦ dmscopio ♦ dedgren ♦ emilin ♦ Ennedi ♦ Heblem ♦ jplumbley
M4346 ♦ moganite ♦ Papab2000 ♦ Shadow Assassin ♦ Tarkus ♦ wouanagaine
Divide wouanagaine by zero and you will in fact get one...one bad-ass that is - Alek King of SC4

Offline briman

Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2013, 02:00:44 PM »
I just installed SC4 mapper after reading your remark. Still learnig how to use it but it worked fine on my win7 x64 system, intel i7 at 3.07 gh w/8gb ram

Offline Zsozso27

  • Forums Inhabitant
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Total likes: 0
  • Reputation: 0
  • Your slogan here
Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2013, 02:26:27 PM »
Hi,

I get "You do not have sufficient access to uninstall sc4 mapper 2013 Please contact your system administrator."
Running on Win 7 x64.
The issue with it not starting is now resolved, moved my documents to \.
But remove still does not work. :S

Offline wouanagaine

  • NHP Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2854
  • Total likes: 7
  • Reputation: 43
  • CL: :computer: SC4 CodeMaster
Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #6 on: January 14, 2013, 02:32:01 PM »
Hi,

I get "You do not have sufficient access to uninstall sc4 mapper 2013 Please contact your system administrator."
Running on Win 7 x64.
The issue with it not starting is now resolved, moved my documents to \.
But remove still does not work. :S

run with Admin privileges if you're on your own pc
see http://www.kevintaber.com/2010/09/22/add-remove-programs-by-runas-administrator-command-line/ for how to do that


As for moving your MyDocuments to \. this version should have fix that :( what was your full path before your moved it ?
New Horizons Productions
Berethor ♦ beskhu3epnm ♦ blade2k5 ♦ dmscopio ♦ dedgren ♦ emilin ♦ Ennedi ♦ Heblem ♦ jplumbley
M4346 ♦ moganite ♦ Papab2000 ♦ Shadow Assassin ♦ Tarkus ♦ wouanagaine
Divide wouanagaine by zero and you will in fact get one...one bad-ass that is - Alek King of SC4

Offline Zsozso27

  • Forums Inhabitant
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Total likes: 0
  • Reputation: 0
  • Your slogan here
Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #7 on: January 14, 2013, 02:43:31 PM »
Hi,

it was "C:\Users\Zsozsˇ\My Documents". Can it be because of the special character in the name?
Already tried running appwiz as administrator, before the first post, did also not work then, either now, thats why I searched for an uninstaller.  :)


Offline wouanagaine

  • NHP Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2854
  • Total likes: 7
  • Reputation: 43
  • CL: :computer: SC4 CodeMaster
Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #8 on: January 14, 2013, 03:01:00 PM »
Hi,

it was "C:\Users\Zsozsˇ\My Documents". Can it be because of the special character in the name?
If you saw the splash screen and then it crash, maybe
If you even didn't see the splash screen, then it is something else
I created a folder with the same name, and use it without problem


Already tried running appwiz as administrator, before the first post, did also not work then, either now, thats why I searched for an uninstaller.  :)
I think MS piss me off with there stupid guideline, just tried on my own pc and I can't uninstall either
You can however safely delete the installation folder, nothing else is modified

New Horizons Productions
Berethor ♦ beskhu3epnm ♦ blade2k5 ♦ dmscopio ♦ dedgren ♦ emilin ♦ Ennedi ♦ Heblem ♦ jplumbley
M4346 ♦ moganite ♦ Papab2000 ♦ Shadow Assassin ♦ Tarkus ♦ wouanagaine
Divide wouanagaine by zero and you will in fact get one...one bad-ass that is - Alek King of SC4

Offline wouanagaine

  • NHP Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2854
  • Total likes: 7
  • Reputation: 43
  • CL: :computer: SC4 CodeMaster
Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #9 on: January 14, 2013, 03:19:32 PM »
I've updated the installer to add an uninstaller that works ( you can redownload and reinstall over the previous one it if you want to remove it )



New Horizons Productions
Berethor ♦ beskhu3epnm ♦ blade2k5 ♦ dmscopio ♦ dedgren ♦ emilin ♦ Ennedi ♦ Heblem ♦ jplumbley
M4346 ♦ moganite ♦ Papab2000 ♦ Shadow Assassin ♦ Tarkus ♦ wouanagaine
Divide wouanagaine by zero and you will in fact get one...one bad-ass that is - Alek King of SC4

Offline Zsozso27

  • Forums Inhabitant
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Total likes: 0
  • Reputation: 0
  • Your slogan here
Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #10 on: January 14, 2013, 03:35:52 PM »
Thanks a lot. :)
Will use it for a while still.

Have logged in with an another account, that does not have any special characters, and worked with that normally, it does not like the "ˇ" in the folder name most probalby.

Thanks for the help. :)

Rgds,
Zs.

Offline aflack1111

  • Forums Inhabitant
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Total likes: 0
  • Reputation: 0
  • Your slogan here
Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #11 on: January 15, 2013, 04:12:03 AM »
Downloaded this new 2013 version on my windows 8.  everything worked fine till i downloaded the scaled Denver Colorado map from stex. It loaded up fine n the mapper Up until I saved the city in the mapper application and I named the region. It states "Error while saving region" "A problem has occurred while creating the region folder, you should enter valid folder name as region name" I have no idea what I should type in as the region name???? I tried all different names. Never had this problem before on other computer using old mapper. Any help?

Offline wouanagaine

  • NHP Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2854
  • Total likes: 7
  • Reputation: 43
  • CL: :computer: SC4 CodeMaster
Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #12 on: January 15, 2013, 04:32:47 AM »
This message is displayed when the program can not create the folder
Try 'Test' as region name
if it does not working, try creating that folder yourself in your regions folder and save with the same name in SC4Mapper ( it then might display a warning a region already exist )

New Horizons Productions
Berethor ♦ beskhu3epnm ♦ blade2k5 ♦ dmscopio ♦ dedgren ♦ emilin ♦ Ennedi ♦ Heblem ♦ jplumbley
M4346 ♦ moganite ♦ Papab2000 ♦ Shadow Assassin ♦ Tarkus ♦ wouanagaine
Divide wouanagaine by zero and you will in fact get one...one bad-ass that is - Alek King of SC4

Offline [Delta ▓k5]

Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #13 on: January 15, 2013, 10:56:23 AM »
Problems over here too!

I got a Win 7 64bit Ultimate rig. Installation was just fine.
When I try to start the mapper the splashscreen comes up, disappears and that's it, even with admin privileges.

The taskmanager shows the following:



it simply does nothing, no crash, no mem leak, not even an infinite loop :D Any ideas?

Offline Zsozso27

  • Forums Inhabitant
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Total likes: 0
  • Reputation: 0
  • Your slogan here
Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #14 on: January 15, 2013, 12:37:17 PM »
Hi,

I had the same problem until I moved my "Documents".
Problem was caused because of a special character in my Profile-name.
Try moving it and check if it works then. :)

Offline wouanagaine

  • NHP Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2854
  • Total likes: 7
  • Reputation: 43
  • CL: :computer: SC4 CodeMaster
Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #15 on: January 16, 2013, 03:55:55 AM »
For people who think they will have to move their "Documents" folder, please PM me, I'll send you a link to a debug version that might help me understanding the problem before you move your Documents

New Horizons Productions
Berethor ♦ beskhu3epnm ♦ blade2k5 ♦ dmscopio ♦ dedgren ♦ emilin ♦ Ennedi ♦ Heblem ♦ jplumbley
M4346 ♦ moganite ♦ Papab2000 ♦ Shadow Assassin ♦ Tarkus ♦ wouanagaine
Divide wouanagaine by zero and you will in fact get one...one bad-ass that is - Alek King of SC4

Offline nichter85

Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #16 on: January 16, 2013, 09:18:11 AM »
Hi,
first of all thank you for the 2013 version &apls
Is there any limitation to the region size when creating regions from RGB?
I just tried to set up a region with a 136x136 config (34x34 big city tiles), which didn't work. step by step i reduced region size, now i'm at 20x20 big city tiles and it still doesn't work.
My system is Win8 (64bit).
I installed SC4Mapper into a custom folder, not the one which was suggested at setup. maybe that's the problem?
Thanks for any hints or information!

Offline wouanagaine

  • NHP Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2854
  • Total likes: 7
  • Reputation: 43
  • CL: :computer: SC4 CodeMaster
Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #17 on: January 16, 2013, 09:25:45 AM »
I tested it with a 528 big cities from SC4M and it was quite laggy on Vista & win7
The limitation mainly comes to the program not able to get more than 1.5gb of RAM
However the RGB reading need much more RAM than the SC4M or PNG equivalent
I might need to look at this as I wasn't aware people use the RGB a lot
I might be able to provide a commandline tool to convert from RGB to  16bit png, which will use less memory

Does it at least work with 'common' sized maps ? like a 8x8 big cities ?


New Horizons Productions
Berethor ♦ beskhu3epnm ♦ blade2k5 ♦ dmscopio ♦ dedgren ♦ emilin ♦ Ennedi ♦ Heblem ♦ jplumbley
M4346 ♦ moganite ♦ Papab2000 ♦ Shadow Assassin ♦ Tarkus ♦ wouanagaine
Divide wouanagaine by zero and you will in fact get one...one bad-ass that is - Alek King of SC4

Offline nichter85

Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #18 on: January 16, 2013, 09:43:08 AM »
>"Does it at least work with 'common' sized maps ? like a 8x8 big cities ?"

Yes, it does. And thats definitely an improvement because the old version didn't even launch on Win8.
Now I finally managed to create a 20x20 big city tiles region. Looks like it doesn't work with 21x21 any more.

>"I wasn't aware people use the RGB a lot"

I haven't yet figured out how to create SC4-compatible 16 bit greyscales from GIS applications. Anyhow I still have a vast collection of large RGB images which I'd like to convert to some bigger regions, like drunkapple does (anyway I wonder how he manages to create these mega regions he's uploading).

Since I'm specialised on mountain regions, most of the map isn't buildable terrain though

Offline wouanagaine

  • NHP Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2854
  • Total likes: 7
  • Reputation: 43
  • CL: :computer: SC4 CodeMaster
Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #19 on: January 16, 2013, 10:15:16 AM »
Damn, I've just see your username and your NHP badge, shame on me

I will try to provide you with a commandline tool if you're ok with such a solution

New Horizons Productions
Berethor ♦ beskhu3epnm ♦ blade2k5 ♦ dmscopio ♦ dedgren ♦ emilin ♦ Ennedi ♦ Heblem ♦ jplumbley
M4346 ♦ moganite ♦ Papab2000 ♦ Shadow Assassin ♦ Tarkus ♦ wouanagaine
Divide wouanagaine by zero and you will in fact get one...one bad-ass that is - Alek King of SC4