Menu

LEX File Exchange
EA Support Files
SC4 Wikipedia
Network Addon Mod
Dependencies
Chat

Author Topic: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread Version 5!  (Read 70852 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline blade2k5

  • NHP Team
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1791
  • Total likes: 4
  • Reputation: 9
  • CL: Here be Dragons
Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #20 on: January 16, 2013, 04:50:20 PM »
>"Does it at least work with 'common' sized maps ? like a 8x8 big cities ?"

Yes, it does. And thats definitely an improvement because the old version didn't even launch on Win8.
Now I finally managed to create a 20x20 big city tiles region. Looks like it doesn't work with 21x21 any more.

>"I wasn't aware people use the RGB a lot"

I haven't yet figured out how to create SC4-compatible 16 bit greyscales from GIS applications. Anyhow I still have a vast collection of large RGB images which I'd like to convert to some bigger regions, like drunkapple does (anyway I wonder how he manages to create these mega regions he's uploading).

Since I'm specialised on mountain regions, most of the map isn't buildable terrain though

Nichter, if you want to do larger maps like DA, send me a PM and I'll get you the programs I use to convert DEM to 16-bit.  It's a simple process and once you've done it a few times it goes much, much faster. :)

Berethor ♦ beskhu3epnm ♦ blade2k5 ♦ dmscopio
dedgren ♦ Emilin ♦ Ennedi ♦ jplumbley ♦ moganite ♦ M4346 ♦ nichter85 ♦ papab2000 ♦
Shadow Assassin ♦ Tarkus ♦ wouanagaine

Old fisherman never die, they just smell that way.

Offline doodoovolant

Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #21 on: January 18, 2013, 05:30:52 PM »
Hello,
I have a problem, I downloded the sc4mapper "2013" and tried to load the Matinenda map but there is an html/readme file that popup in front of the program and I can't reduce or move the window. Any idea on how to prevent this file from appearing ?

Offline nichter85

Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #22 on: January 18, 2013, 09:09:50 PM »
Damn, I've just see your username and your NHP badge, shame on me
$%Grinno$% no need to shame  :D

I will try to provide you with a commandline tool if you're ok with such a solution
converting rgb to 16-bit greyscale sounds like a great idea (I work a lot with these RGBs since I don't have photoshop). I'm OK with a command line tool. Just relax and work on the problem whenever you like. Please don't feel urged to do it, I'm not in a rush ;). And thank you for your kind support :thumbsup:.

Offline wouanagaine

  • NHP Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2854
  • Total likes: 7
  • Reputation: 43
  • CL: :computer: SC4 CodeMaster
Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #23 on: January 19, 2013, 03:36:18 AM »
Hello,
I have a problem, I downloded the sc4mapper "2013" and tried to load the Matinenda map but there is an html/readme file that popup in front of the program and I can't reduce or move the window. Any idea on how to prevent this file from appearing ?
Whoa, tried it and also got the massive readme covering all screen :)
ok, so you just either  (tried only on Vista, should work on all win OS )
- press ALT-F4 => the window close
- press ALT-space => you got the system menu, choose move, use the keyboard arrow to move the window so you can see the close box or the 'ok' button

I will make sure in new version that the window won't be more than the screen size, good catch

converting rgb to 16-bit greyscale sounds like a great idea (I work a lot with these RGBs since I don't have photoshop). I'm OK with a command line tool. Just relax and work on the problem whenever you like. Please don't feel urged to do it, I'm not in a rush ;). And thank you for your kind support :thumbsup:.
So far, I've been able to lower the memory usage. Can you point me to a freaking huge map on LEX or STEX, something like your 132x132 map ?
New Horizons Productions
Berethor ♦ beskhu3epnm ♦ blade2k5 ♦ dmscopio ♦ dedgren ♦ emilin ♦ Ennedi ♦ Heblem ♦ jplumbley
M4346 ♦ moganite ♦ Papab2000 ♦ Shadow Assassin ♦ Tarkus ♦ wouanagaine
Divide wouanagaine by zero and you will in fact get one...one bad-ass that is - Alek King of SC4

Offline dobdriver

Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #24 on: January 19, 2013, 05:52:06 PM »
Quote
I can now report that I've been able to load it in my working version and it use only 800Mb

Cool!

Quote
which means no more patching

No, it means even bigger maps ;<)


Is there perchance a new version of terraformer on the new horizon Wouanagaine?


Cheers and thanks for all your work on this.
dobs

PS. I have a bug.

This particular --> ń <-- as in Gdańsk is not recognised and invokes this error dialogue



I presume the alphabet is Polish.
Old Mapper will load it without any problem.


Cheers again and thanks.
dobs
« Last Edit: January 20, 2013, 07:46:20 AM by dobdriver »
G'day,
Need a map? Check these Beauties out.
Check out my Stex, Lex and PLAN B uploads.
What about YOU make a map? Use my easy to follow Tutorial.

Offline Yild

Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #25 on: January 20, 2013, 10:09:57 AM »
This particular --> ń <-- as in Gdańsk is not recognised and invokes this error dialogue



I presume the alphabet is Polish.


yes it is... there are more: ąćęłńśżź  ;D
DAMN Manager download: at LEX at STEX
DAMN Manager support thread: at SC4Dev

Offline blade2k5

  • NHP Team
  • Forums Parliamentarian
  • *
  • Posts: 1791
  • Total likes: 4
  • Reputation: 9
  • CL: Here be Dragons
Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #26 on: January 21, 2013, 03:28:58 PM »
Is there perchance a new version of terraformer on the new horizon Wouanagaine?

I asked Wou the same question via PM a few days ago and here's the reply he gave....

Quote
I plan to revamp or at least make my tools up to date with the various OS, SC4TF will be on the list but this one will require an almost reset from scratch, so I don't know when I will start.
When I will be ready to tackle SC4TF, I will make a 'suggestion & improvement' thread here so everyone will be able to voice their ideas about what they want to see

From what I remember, Wou's laptop was stolen that had all the schematics for SC4TF.  Wou will probably expand upon that when he responds to your post.

Berethor ♦ beskhu3epnm ♦ blade2k5 ♦ dmscopio
dedgren ♦ Emilin ♦ Ennedi ♦ jplumbley ♦ moganite ♦ M4346 ♦ nichter85 ♦ papab2000 ♦
Shadow Assassin ♦ Tarkus ♦ wouanagaine

Old fisherman never die, they just smell that way.

Offline wouanagaine

  • NHP Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2854
  • Total likes: 7
  • Reputation: 43
  • CL: :computer: SC4 CodeMaster
Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #27 on: January 21, 2013, 03:58:43 PM »
For any suggestion and development following please post in : http://sc4devotion.com/forums/index.php?topic=15483.0

Yes, SC4TF might be redone in an uncertain future. No promise. The only thing you can know is that might love for 3D terrain rendering is still high.
New Horizons Productions
Berethor ♦ beskhu3epnm ♦ blade2k5 ♦ dmscopio ♦ dedgren ♦ emilin ♦ Ennedi ♦ Heblem ♦ jplumbley
M4346 ♦ moganite ♦ Papab2000 ♦ Shadow Assassin ♦ Tarkus ♦ wouanagaine
Divide wouanagaine by zero and you will in fact get one...one bad-ass that is - Alek King of SC4

Offline jigsaw

Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #28 on: January 23, 2013, 01:34:02 AM »
i dont want to start a new topic; (please delete if necessary post is in the way)

how long does it take to save a 100 tile region? this has been stuck on 6hrs with no progress in the green bar. tried another region, same problem.

« Last Edit: January 23, 2013, 02:27:59 AM by jigsaw »
insert signature here

Offline wouanagaine

  • NHP Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2854
  • Total likes: 7
  • Reputation: 43
  • CL: :computer: SC4 CodeMaster
Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #29 on: January 23, 2013, 03:10:28 AM »
Should be quick ( less than a minute )

What is the name of the region ? does it include special characters ?


New Horizons Productions
Berethor ♦ beskhu3epnm ♦ blade2k5 ♦ dmscopio ♦ dedgren ♦ emilin ♦ Ennedi ♦ Heblem ♦ jplumbley
M4346 ♦ moganite ♦ Papab2000 ♦ Shadow Assassin ♦ Tarkus ♦ wouanagaine
Divide wouanagaine by zero and you will in fact get one...one bad-ass that is - Alek King of SC4

Offline jigsaw

Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #30 on: January 23, 2013, 03:20:57 AM »
it was a simple alpha-numeric region name. should i PM you with details or post here?

insert signature here

Offline wouanagaine

  • NHP Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2854
  • Total likes: 7
  • Reputation: 43
  • CL: :computer: SC4 CodeMaster
Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #31 on: January 23, 2013, 03:23:43 AM »
it was a simple alpha-numeric region name. should i PM you with details or post here?


Check your PM box and yes you can post here
New Horizons Productions
Berethor ♦ beskhu3epnm ♦ blade2k5 ♦ dmscopio ♦ dedgren ♦ emilin ♦ Ennedi ♦ Heblem ♦ jplumbley
M4346 ♦ moganite ♦ Papab2000 ♦ Shadow Assassin ♦ Tarkus ♦ wouanagaine
Divide wouanagaine by zero and you will in fact get one...one bad-ass that is - Alek King of SC4

Offline jigsaw

Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #32 on: January 23, 2013, 04:30:01 AM »
still happening. only got to 60% saving and has frozen. Task Manager still looks happy though. when i end the task, the program splash reports it is awaiting a response from me




is there a .dll or something i am missing that i require?

im on W7Pro 64bit. i will try this in my XP virtual machine tomorrow if necessary.
insert signature here

Offline wouanagaine

  • NHP Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2854
  • Total likes: 7
  • Reputation: 43
  • CL: :computer: SC4 CodeMaster
Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #33 on: January 23, 2013, 04:37:38 AM »
The  development version in your PM Box as 'Debug' mode, can you run it please and tell me what the DOS console said when it freeze ?

Edit:BTW what is your complete path to your 'MyDocuments' folder?
« Last Edit: January 23, 2013, 04:40:54 AM by wouanagaine »
New Horizons Productions
Berethor ♦ beskhu3epnm ♦ blade2k5 ♦ dmscopio ♦ dedgren ♦ emilin ♦ Ennedi ♦ Heblem ♦ jplumbley
M4346 ♦ moganite ♦ Papab2000 ♦ Shadow Assassin ♦ Tarkus ♦ wouanagaine
Divide wouanagaine by zero and you will in fact get one...one bad-ass that is - Alek King of SC4

Offline jigsaw

Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #34 on: January 23, 2013, 04:44:49 AM »
insert signature here

Offline wouanagaine

  • NHP Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2854
  • Total likes: 7
  • Reputation: 43
  • CL: :computer: SC4 CodeMaster
Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #35 on: January 23, 2013, 06:27:11 AM »
Weird thing , especially as the first city has been saved correctly

Some questions to try to find out what could happen:

What are the files in c:\users\GKING-NB4\Documents\SimCity 4\Regions\Osella after the crash ?
Can you confirm you have a file named 'City - New city(006-000).PNG' ? does it looks right ?

Can you try to delete every file you have in c:\users\GKING-NB4\Documents\SimCity 4\Regions\Osella ?

What is your free disk space on drive C ?

I tried to download the osella region but I can't find it on the LEX or on the STEX ?
In case you have edited the config.bmp, can you export the region to SC4M format and send it to me ?

Do you have anything that can prevent a file to be written/created ? ( UAC and/or antivirus ? )


Edit :
Can you do the following  experiment :
  run the debug version
  create a region, select RGB, navigate in the 'doc' folder under SC4Mapper2013 folder, and load the amarco.png ( it is a RGB even if named png )
  save that region

Thanks
« Last Edit: January 23, 2013, 06:45:57 AM by wouanagaine »
New Horizons Productions
Berethor ♦ beskhu3epnm ♦ blade2k5 ♦ dmscopio ♦ dedgren ♦ emilin ♦ Ennedi ♦ Heblem ♦ jplumbley
M4346 ♦ moganite ♦ Papab2000 ♦ Shadow Assassin ♦ Tarkus ♦ wouanagaine
Divide wouanagaine by zero and you will in fact get one...one bad-ass that is - Alek King of SC4

Offline jigsaw

Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #36 on: January 23, 2013, 05:21:04 PM »
all is fixed with v4b  &hlp

i made the amarco.png as you requested and i made 2 super large regions using sc4m files. all is working fine.

the new config.bmp editor in the version you sent me (with coloured squares) is a little bit more clunky than the first version. but i can live with that, knowing i can make a great region, with a fantastic tool

thank you so much wouanagaine. we owe you so much gratitude.
insert signature here

Offline wouanagaine

  • NHP Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2854
  • Total likes: 7
  • Reputation: 43
  • CL: :computer: SC4 CodeMaster
Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #37 on: January 23, 2013, 05:37:24 PM »
all is fixed with v4b  &hlp

i made the amarco.png as you requested and i made 2 super large regions using sc4m files. all is working fine.
Great !!

Quote
the new config.bmp editor in the version you sent me (with coloured squares) is a little bit more clunky than the first version. but i can live with that, knowing i can make a great region, with a fantastic tool
Can you explain why/what you found it clunky ? 

New Horizons Productions
Berethor ♦ beskhu3epnm ♦ blade2k5 ♦ dmscopio ♦ dedgren ♦ emilin ♦ Ennedi ♦ Heblem ♦ jplumbley
M4346 ♦ moganite ♦ Papab2000 ♦ Shadow Assassin ♦ Tarkus ♦ wouanagaine
Divide wouanagaine by zero and you will in fact get one...one bad-ass that is - Alek King of SC4

Offline pieman101

  • Forums Inhabitant
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Total likes: 0
  • Reputation: 0
  • IM BATMAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #38 on: January 23, 2013, 07:20:58 PM »
Can you please make this for Mac. I really want to have Sc4mapper but I have a mac. So can you please make this for mac.   ::)
Derrrrrrrrrrrp!!!!!!!!!!!  i post cuz i want to

Offline wouanagaine

  • NHP Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 2854
  • Total likes: 7
  • Reputation: 43
  • CL: :computer: SC4 CodeMaster
Re: SC4Mapper 2013 Version Support thread
« Reply #39 on: January 24, 2013, 02:23:10 AM »
Can you please make this for Mac. I really want to have Sc4mapper but I have a mac. So can you please make this for mac.   ::)
At the end of February, I should create a GitHub repo with all sources, then someone might be able to do a Mac version
New Horizons Productions
Berethor ♦ beskhu3epnm ♦ blade2k5 ♦ dmscopio ♦ dedgren ♦ emilin ♦ Ennedi ♦ Heblem ♦ jplumbley
M4346 ♦ moganite ♦ Papab2000 ♦ Shadow Assassin ♦ Tarkus ♦ wouanagaine
Divide wouanagaine by zero and you will in fact get one...one bad-ass that is - Alek King of SC4