Menu

LEX File Exchange EA Support Files
SC4 Wikipedia Network Addon Mod
Dependencies Chat

Author Topic: Makig IM out of a I-R lot without losing props etc.  (Read 2287 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline FrankU

  • It's Frank, the U is just for the suspense
  • BeNeLux Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 3339
  • Reputation: 14
  • Dutch Housing Project
  • CL:
    U Grow It
Makig IM out of a I-R lot without losing props etc.
« on: January 08, 2011, 07:25:46 AM »
I have a question and I have some remarks on Pim/X.

The question:
Is it possible to change a finished lot that is a Landmark with I-R jobs into a lot that is a Landmark with IM jobs or even CS$ jobs?

The remarks:
1. It would be very convenient if it were possible to have a "save as" function after having made a lot. If I, e.g., want to make a series of park lots: all the same size, all the same stats, but with straight path, curved path, on tree on it, bench on it etc.... a lot of variations.... It would be nice to be able to do this in Pim-X also. Now I need to swith to LE, which is not too bad, but hey! Pim-X has its advantages.
2. One downside to Pim_X: I cannot cycle through prop families on the lot. Really pity and I miss that function. It would be nice if it could be added some day.
3. Would it be possible to reorganise the Lot view screen in such a way that we see the 3D and the 2D views above each other? This would make it easier to place the needed screens next to each other on my computer screen.


Offline Travis

  • Forums Senator
  • *
  • Posts: 722
  • Reputation: 15
  • c'est la vie
Re: Makig IM out of a I-R lot without losing props etc.
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2011, 07:38:37 AM »
The question:
Is it possible to change a finished lot that is a Landmark with I-R jobs into a lot that is a Landmark with IM jobs or even CS$ jobs?

Yes. My preferred method (there are other ways) is to take the building, create a new building exemplar in the desired category, and then copy the lot objects from the previous lot over to the new one. (the lot needs to be the same size of course). I really should write a quick tutorial sometime on that, but... ::)

Quote
2. One downside to Pim_X: I cannot cycle through prop families on the lot. Really pity and I miss that function. It would be nice if it could be added some day.

I second this also. ;) I've noted that function is missing from LE_X. If I really need to check the appearance of the other props in the family, I'll go and load it in regular LE.


Offline FrankU

  • It's Frank, the U is just for the suspense
  • BeNeLux Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 3339
  • Reputation: 14
  • Dutch Housing Project
  • CL:
    U Grow It
Re: Makig IM out of a I-R lot without losing props etc.
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2011, 08:06:03 AM »
OK, I understand the copying. is that possible in Pim-X or should I use Reader?
Ah, don't answer that.... I will find out.

And indeed: I also switch from Pim-X to LE all the time.

Another addition that would be very convenient: A possibility to search in the prop list like you can in LE by typing a (part of) a name. Especially if you use the Maxis props (and I do) the list looks almost endless. The only "search" I can make now is by typing one letter and the list jumps to the first prop that begins with this letter. Or do I overlook a feature of Pim-X?

The ability to exclude subdirectories is fantastic!
And also some other features of the Pim-X... but that is for another day. &apls

Offline travismking

  • Forums Senator
  • *
  • Posts: 522
  • Reputation: 1
Re: Makig IM out of a I-R lot without losing props etc.
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2011, 08:14:44 AM »
it is indeed possible in pim-x, just highlight and right-click and copy, paste in the new one

Offline FrankU

  • It's Frank, the U is just for the suspense
  • BeNeLux Team
  • Forums Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 3339
  • Reputation: 14
  • Dutch Housing Project
  • CL:
    U Grow It
Re: Makig IM out of a I-R lot without losing props etc.
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2011, 04:55:02 AM »
Is it also possible by making a new building out of the same model and then go to LE and exchange the buildings?