Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

SimCity 4 Devotion Welcome Portal => LEX File Exchange Discussion => LEX DVD Disks - Sold Out/Discontinued => Topic started by: camaro_69_327 on December 07, 2009, 09:21:29 PM

Title: Installing Dvd Content......ooops?
Post by: camaro_69_327 on December 07, 2009, 09:21:29 PM
HI,

Back again , Got the DvD and CD Great job everyone.

Long story Short. i read hear that you could Click install all.....and as that was  an option I did.    Oooops.

OK so now i have a folder in my plug ins folder that has a ton of things that cant coexist in the plug-in folder.

Things i see First..

more than one tree controler
multiple slope mods


So...What is the proper install procedure?

Again Great job everyone and thanks for any answers.

To elaborate more...This is a new install of Win 7 i had the game running with CAM and NAM installed but uninstalled all. Cleared the my docs folder and the maxis one they leave behind. Restart windows.

Install Simcity 4 Deluxe.........Run game ,open city (tutorial)

Install update 1          .........Run game , open city

Install update for bat   ........Run game  , open city

ummmm remove CD from drive...all i will say on that .(Dont even think that, yes i still have the original box ,manual,and both cd,s) i just dont keep it in the Drive.

To this point things are fine.... I know you can have a laugh at this so have at it....lol
Title: Re: Installing Dvd Content......ooops?
Post by: BarbyW on December 08, 2009, 02:43:39 AM
There are specific instruction on the Mods and Terrain Mods section regarding installation. Unfortunately it was not possible to exclude them from the install all option so you will manually have to remove the ones you do not want.
Title: Re: Installing Dvd Content......ooops?
Post by: Andreas on December 08, 2009, 05:31:32 AM
I'd be very careful with the "Install all" feature, although it sounds convenient. But even without the mods that might conflict with each other, 4 GB is a helluva lot of stuff, and might be more than your computer can handle. What you can do is either browsing the DVD and select only the stuff you like, or manually removing the stuff that you don't need from a plugin folder that has been created with the "install all" feature. Sure, it takes a bit of time, but the faster loading speed of the game outweights that soon.
Title: Re: Installing Dvd Content......ooops?
Post by: Rayden on December 08, 2009, 06:26:02 AM
Even if it installs multiple terrain mods and other files that cannot coexist together, it's still easier and faster to delete those extra ones than installing one at a time. ;)
Title: Re: Installing Dvd Content......ooops?
Post by: camaro_69_327 on December 08, 2009, 04:00:02 PM
Lol...Kinda what i figured....Sounded to good to be true...Install all.....hahha

Thanks for the responces. I Do actually read the readme's. Just thought the installer would put things in the proper places . Not a big deal is still way more convientient to have it all in one place and knowing that everything is compatible with each other.

As far as the computer handling it....well we are 7 years more advanced in that department .

Question for the brainy ones.....looking at an exception report from sc4 it  says the system has 4 gig of Ram and that 4 GIG is Free. When in fact I have 8 Gig total. So IF the Game requests Memory an its alllocated from outside that 4 GIG range could that be a cause of the lock ups and Crashes??

Back in the old days Simcity would just Drop to the Desktop.......NOW it just Locks HARD and have to reset computer.

As a side note seams that since I Slowed the report rate for my mouse it's happening way less.



Title: Re: Installing Dvd Content......ooops?
Post by: Andreas on December 08, 2009, 04:34:31 PM
SimCity 4 is a 32 bit application, so it can't handle more RAM, even if it's physically there. I guess Maxis wouldn't have dreamt that anyone still might play SC4 in 2009. ;)
Title: Re: Installing Dvd Content......ooops?
Post by: camaro_69_327 on December 08, 2009, 04:58:50 PM
To Funny....Let alone Dream that there would be this much content created that is SO well built.....



Question.......IS there enough content (small stuff) to start a region with the BSC block maxis? all three?

I play call of duty modern warfare 2 also But this is way more like a hobby then a game .


(Edit)  

I see plenty now that i look in the residential section.

Title: Re: Installing Dvd Content......ooops?
Post by: klm88 on March 20, 2010, 11:48:11 PM
Having installed these add ons.And in the game has become clear water (lost color) ()sad(), how to return the color of the water? Which file with these discs is responsible for the color of the water?.
Title: Re: Installing Dvd Content......ooops?
Post by: BarbyW on March 21, 2010, 03:23:46 AM
The files responsible for changing the colour of the water will be part of the terrain mod that you have installed. I would suggest finding the Readme for the terrain mods on the DVD and finding the terrain mod you have installed. You will need to remove certain files which are listed as Optional in the Readme.