Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

SimCity 4 Devotion Custom Content Showcase => Network Addon Mod (NAM) => Topic started by: ulp2.0m3600 on April 01, 2021, 08:34:59 AM

Title: 2 Lane roads connecting to Avenue
Post by: ulp2.0m3600 on April 01, 2021, 08:34:59 AM
Hey peeps long time user first time member....  ,  I am having an issue.

I just re-installed the game and I am wanting to connect a 2 lane road to an avenue.  But I only want
to connect it from one side and not a thur intersection.   I have done this before in the past.  But
I can not remember how to fix this and not having any luck with google searches.

Does anyone know a fix or mod for this ?

Thanks,
Title: Re: 2 Lane roads connecting to Avenue
Post by: jeffryfisher on April 01, 2021, 11:30:59 AM
If your road doesn't carry much traffic, then you might try transitioning down to a street just before connecting to the avenue (or vice versa, pull a street one cell out of the side of the avenue and then drag the road from that cell). Try a couple permutations and see if you can get what you want.
Title: Re: 2 Lane roads connecting to Avenue
Post by: ulp2.0m3600 on April 01, 2021, 09:18:39 PM
If your road doesn't carry much traffic, then you might try transitioning down to a street just before connecting to the avenue (or vice versa, pull a street one cell out of the side of the avenue and then drag the road from that cell). Try a couple permutations and see if you can get what you want.

Thanks for responding,  But that is not really want I want. 

I am looking for this :


<<<<<<  AV <<<<<<<                   
<<<<<<  AV <<<<<<<

>>>>>> AV >>>>>>>>
>>>>>> AV >>>>>>>>
                        ^
                        ^
                        ^
                       2 lane RD
                             
But this is what is happening :

<<<<<<  AV <  ^   <<<<<
<<<<<<  AV <  ^   <<<<
                          ^
>>>>>> AV >>  ^  >>>>>
>>>>>> AV >>  ^  >>>>>
                          ^
                          ^
                        2 Lane RD


Right now what I am doing instead of using an avenue is just
doing a one way road for each side. 

If you have a large city having connecting a intersection to both sides
with traffic lights would cause a huge traffic problem every few feet.

If you see where I am going.   Besides it looks better and more clean.
Title: Re: 2 Lane roads connecting to Avenue
Post by: Tarkus on April 02, 2021, 05:37:54 AM
It's a little difficult to tell from your descriptions as to just what you're describing, but I'm guessing off the diagram that this is what you're trying to build?

(https://simtarkus.files.wordpress.com/2021/04/nam-04022021-1.jpg)

If that's the case, that's simply a matter of just not dragging the Road all the way through the Avenue on each side.  Note, however, if you're trying to do that with the Street network instead of Road, the Street network's hardcoded "auto-connect" behavior kicks in, and forces the Street to cross through the Avenue.  We presently have no way of fixing that with the Street network, unfortunately.

-Alex
Title: Re: 2 Lane roads connecting to Avenue
Post by: ulp2.0m3600 on April 02, 2021, 08:15:09 AM
It's a little difficult to tell from your descriptions as to just what you're describing, but I'm guessing off the diagram that this is what you're trying to build?

(https://simtarkus.files.wordpress.com/2021/04/nam-04022021-1.jpg)

If that's the case, that's simply a matter of just not dragging the Road all the way through the Avenue on each side.  Note, however, if you're trying to do that with the Street network instead of Road, the Street network's hardcoded "auto-connect" behavior kicks in, and forces the Street to cross through the Avenue.  We presently have no way of fixing that with the Street network, unfortunately.

-Alex

Yes !,  That is exactly what I am trying to do.  But as you said the auto connect feature to both sides is kicking in.
I somehow was able to disable that in the past but can not remember how I did it. 
Title: Re: 2 Lane roads connecting to Avenue
Post by: Tarkus on April 03, 2021, 05:29:38 AM
If you're using Road, there shouldn't be any auto-connect--at least not with the NAM installed.  It's unavoidable with Street (and also unavoidable with the RHW, which also has the dreaded auto-connect), and you'd have to convert to Road before intersecting the Avenue.

-Alex
Title: Re: 2 Lane roads connecting to Avenue
Post by: ulp2.0m3600 on April 03, 2021, 06:08:25 PM
Ya I am not sure what is going on.  Confusing me
Title: Re: 2 Lane roads connecting to Avenue
Post by: Wiimeiser on April 06, 2021, 07:16:54 AM
If you have some extra space you could try using the slip lane method. That should do it.
Title: Re: 2 Lane roads connecting to Avenue
Post by: ulp2.0m3600 on April 06, 2021, 10:47:59 AM
Thanks for the responses...

I have decided just to go with the one way roads.  I make them like an avenue.

I wonder if this is actually better ?
Title: Re: 2 Lane roads connecting to Avenue
Post by: pieman102 on April 07, 2021, 10:29:32 PM
I honestly have the same problem. Make creating sliplanes a chore. Ironically, its the street that doesn't auto connect to both sides of the avenue. The road does.
Title: Re: 2 Lane roads connecting to Avenue
Post by: Tarkus on April 08, 2021, 02:47:50 AM
That's really, really strange.  Only thing I can think of is that you have something ancient hiding in your Plugins that's overriding some part of the NAM Controller.  Try it with a clean Plugins folder, and then after adding NAM 40 into that clean Plugins folder.

Also, check the version number on your SimCity 4.exe file.  It'd be helpful to where you got your copy of SC4: GOG, Steam, Origin, off the original discs, or somewhere else?

-Alex
Title: Re: 2 Lane roads connecting to Avenue
Post by: pieman102 on April 08, 2021, 11:02:33 AM
That's really, really strange.  Only thing I can think of is that you have something ancient hiding in your Plugins that's overriding some part of the NAM Controller.  Try it with a clean Plugins folder, and then after adding NAM 40 into that clean Plugins folder.

Also, check the version number on your SimCity 4.exe file.  It'd be helpful to where you got your copy of SC4: GOG, Steam, Origin, off the original discs, or somewhere else?

-Alex

I play on a Mac so there isn't an exe file as far as Im concerned. I play Simcity 4 on steam. Honestly I don't know if I want to fix the issue. There are some spots in my cities where a street connects to only one half of an avenue and I cant really it go through all the way because of a nearby flexpiece for example. Either way, I just find it interesting that the streets and roads have been the other way around for me, at least with avenues.