• Welcome to SC4 Devotion Forum Archives.

Question about SC4 loading order game in the readme file

Started by cefien, October 24, 2012, 09:54:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cefien

ok, this Datpacking thing got me confused, cause this is my first time using this....here's my description and questions...
after installing and when i read the readme file....it said something about compressed (packed files) and uncompresed (unpacked files) will cause issue in the SC4 loading order game. in other words, i have to compress all my subfolders within my plugins to avoid this. True??
BUT.....after reading the thread, and almost all comments, i discovered that some of the people choose not to compress some files, in this case the NAM file.....wait what??? What about the compress and uncompress issues above??   ()what()

whatevermind

It's all a bit complicated, but essentially loading order boils down to alphabetical order, I think subfolders first, loading the contents in each subfolder before moving on to the next one, and finally loose files in the root Plugins folder. Or something along those lines - there's a few threads here that dig into the topic much deeper if you do a search.

What it essentially means though is that by datpacking all these files and folders into one (or several) larger files, you could change the loading order of your plugins. Loading order is only important to a few very specific plugins - most of them it doesn't matter what order they get loaded in.