• Welcome to SC4 Devotion Forum Archives.

Jim plays the game.

Started by jmyers2043, April 13, 2012, 07:25:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jmyers2043

You will not see the picture of the day screen grab in any of my cities. I am not good at macro landscaping. Nevertheless, I tinker and create. This is what I'm up to at the moment.

Aerial of the Jacksonville Region. A grid of large cities with water and low rolling hills.

I have a problem in the city of Stockwood. I've painted myself into a corner. The area between the rail lines and the edge of the map needs filling in. Farms would be nice but the strip is too narrow for farm size I like to zone.

Will this be a good spot for a timber farm? I zone a large farm area. Raise a steep hill. And place a road along the side of the hill where I think a timber farm will grow.

A timber farm grows quicker than a wink.

I am confident that this short stretch of road on the side of this steep hill will produce a timber farm. Why? I've gone through all my farm lots and have changed them to have reasonable more realistic maximum slopes. Some BSC and SPAM farms are set to grow on very steep slopes. I use the Cycledogg rule of thumb for farms. Find the longest dimension and add one. So a 4X4 farm lot will grow on a maximum slope of 5. However, my Forestry Tower timber farm is set to grow on slopes of 7 or higher. There is no competition.

Ah, good. Spruce Tree timber is the field that grew. There are three Timber Trees that Cycledogg has made. Spruce, Ponderosa, and White Pine. The trees cycle through three stages. Medium, Full grown, and stumps. These are the stumps from another Spruce Pine field in the city. I'm still altering and re-lotting the fields. I'm trying to find good combinations of trees to group into families that make interesting and varied forests.