• Welcome to SC4 Devotion Forum Archives.

Chris's Boat Yard and Atelier

Started by C.Scott, September 04, 2015, 12:47:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

C.Scott

I need some help from the community with getting the waterline correctly placed for these ships and boats.
Before rendering in gmax I make sure the vessels are just slightly above the upper Red waterline of these
vessels, but yet in the LE they are always sitting on there keels.

Thanks, Chris

CS

Simcoug

I'm so glad to see you still around!  :)
As for the problem you are having, I'm going to guess that it may be a LOD issue... but I'm sure some of the resident BAT experts around here will be more helpful.  Can't wait to see these ready for release. 
If you need any help in the lotting department, I'm happy to pitch in.

romualdillo

First of all, the boats look great!!!

Secondly, I think is a LOD issue too, although I have no experience with marine bats, but I think you have at least three options:

- Remove everything under the water line. It's the easiest option.

- Make custom LODs that fit the vessels' forms better. If the LOD is bigger than the boat, everything under the it will be rendered as part of the LOD's texture, and will show up.

- Divide the models and render the parts separately. The LOD of the upper part can be a simple box, but the LOD of the lower part must fit the model (You can even render the complete model again with the lower LOD, the shadows will look better). Here you will find how to do multiple models props, by c.p..

I hope it helps, here you will find masters that will tell you what to do much better than me.

Now a (small) critic  :): I find the textures too clean and plain for my taste, but the models are fantastic!!!

belfastsocrates

My goodness, those boats are beautiful!

Unfortunately I can't assist with the problem but I hope you can resolve it as I'd love to use these in game. Lovely work
A unique nation fusing technological prowess and unparalleled grandeur