• Welcome to SC4 Devotion Forum Archives.

Forays into DBPF tools

Started by JoeST, March 10, 2013, 07:47:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JoeST

So, as you may know, I'm not very good at this whole SC4 thing. I've not played the game for a while, nor have I ever been any good at making things for it. At least, nothing anyone found any use for $%Grinno$%

Hopefully this may change :D I recently found myself helping Wou make SC4Mapper a little more portable (since he published the code on GitHub). This prompted me to go back and refactor my last attempts at a DBPF parser in python. I thought 'wouldn't it be cool if we could have some way of doing a 'cleanitol for TGIs'.

I'm glad to say that I've made a thing that can do this. Or at least, it can scan a single DBPF file for any TGIs. I have no idea (nor desire) to program a GUI, but the code is there for anyone who wants to stab me. I want to attempt a library that recurses through a directory, generating a list of paths to all the DBPF files. I'd then  use this to scan directories for the TGIs in the (what I'm calling) .tgis file.

Anyone interested?
Copperminds and Cuddleswarms

Swordmaster

Something like that would be great, Joe. A tool where you can input a dat file and it produces a txt list of the subfiles in it with TGI addresses.

Even better, do you think it could list addresses and contents of LTEXT files?

Cheers
Willy

CasperVg

Looking great, Joe! The more DBPF information and algorithms we have, the better. I've been thinking of doing a DBPF library in C, but it probably wouldn't be much different from iLive's C++ implementation  :)

Quote from: Swordmaster on March 10, 2013, 09:11:03 AM
Even better, do you think it could list addresses and contents of LTEXT files?

My LTEXTool already does that, if you use the Export as XML functionality. It will output the LTEXTs as follows, in an XML file, which is basically a formatted TXT file.

<DBPF>NetworkAddonMod_Locale_english.dat</DBPF>
<LTEXT>