• Welcome to SC4 Devotion Forum Archives.

State of Paradisia

Started by Lach77, December 22, 2012, 03:33:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lach77

This is my first attempt at showcasing my region - Paradisia.

This region was a British Commonwealth settlement until the early 1900s. Named due to its mild climates and an abundance of natural resources and space that offered refuge from the oppressive political systems in Europe and the harsh climates. Consequently the more early established cities feature heavily in English and European style architecture.

But due to its settlement in the mid 1700s and that significant wealth did not begin to acquire until the late 1800s very little remains of the original colonial buildings. Therefore the extravagent architecture that dominated many European cities won't be found in this State. However there was enough wealth circulating in the mid 1800s that generated a class of wealth from the boom in industrys such as wool, gold, timber and other materials and exotic wares. This wealth generated a boom in the burgeoning construction industry and many Victorian era suburbs and towns date back to this period.

The main port city of this region, Altdorf became a bustling trading centre and this expansion coincided with the development of railway and tram lines that connected the satellite towns and inner suburbs together. The tram lines are gone but the radial heavy rail suburban system has been expanded and upgraded to the present day. More recently an underground metropolitan system has been added to handle the load from the more densely populated inner suburbs.