LEX Latest Uploads

Menu

LEX File Exchange
EA Support Files
SC4 Wikipedia
Network Addon Mod
Dependencies
Chat
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

April 11, 2021, 11:19:15 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Is there a way of saving higher resolution images?  (Read 5549 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Han Solo

  • Forums Inhabitant
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Total likes: 0
  • Reputation: 0
  • Your slogan here
Is there a way of saving higher resolution images?
« on: May 03, 2012, 03:58:36 PM »
I'm working on a project that requires a high resolution, bird's eye view of a map. The resolution of SC4TF is too low for my requirements. Is there a way of getting SC4TF to capture higher res pictures or is there a work around I could use?

Offline whatevermind

Re: Is there a way of saving higher resolution images?
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2012, 12:02:13 AM »
If you need an overhead view, you can use "Show Overview", and then use the button on that screen to save the overview image.  This saves the image at a 1:1 pixel to grid square ratio.

For an angled image, which might be what you're looking for, there's two methods, which both give you the same resolution.  Pan/zoom/tilt the viewer to the view you want a picture of, then either 1) Print screen, or 2) use the built in camera at File >> Take Picture.  Unfortunately, both are limited by the small size of the viewer screen, at 800x600.

Offline Han Solo

  • Forums Inhabitant
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Total likes: 0
  • Reputation: 0
  • Your slogan here
Re: Is there a way of saving higher resolution images?
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2012, 10:56:31 PM »
Thanks for the reply. I want an overhead view and I'd tried capturing an image in the way you described before I'd posted this question. I was just hoping there was something I'd overlooked (I've only been using SC4TF for a few days). I guess I can still use the images from SC4TF but I just won't get the quality I'd hoped for the project I'm working on.

Offline Lowkee33

Re: Is there a way of saving higher resolution images?
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2012, 09:32:40 AM »
If you need an overhead view, you can use "Show Overview", and then use the button on that screen to save the overview image.  This saves the image at a 1:1 pixel to grid square ratio.

If that isnt good enough, I guess this isnt for SimCity.  You could simply stretch the image Terraformer makes until it is the right size, but at that rate why not find a DEM and edit that?

Offline Han Solo

  • Forums Inhabitant
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Total likes: 0
  • Reputation: 0
  • Your slogan here
Re: Is there a way of saving higher resolution images?
« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2012, 01:22:10 PM »
If you need an overhead view, you can use "Show Overview", and then use the button on that screen to save the overview image.  This saves the image at a 1:1 pixel to grid square ratio.

If that isnt good enough, I guess this isnt for SimCity.  You could simply stretch the image Terraformer makes until it is the right size, but at that rate why not find a DEM and edit that?

You're right, it's not for the purpose of generating a map. You might have solved my problem though, I could use DEM data to generate a map and capture the image from the DEM data rather than the map itself. Thanks.