• Welcome to SC4 Devotion Forum Archives.

Terrain Mod Questions--High Cliff!

Started by noahclem, February 08, 2019, 12:01:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

noahclem

Hello all, I've been exploring terrain mod stuff off and on for awhile and recently got back into the thick of things. David's (djp's) recent post regarding the WMP websites and files led to me browsing their site again and finally discovering ShockTherapy's incredible rock mods and I decided then that I'd like to find a place in my terrain mod for all 5 of them. While I've been tinkering with terrain mods for many years, adjusting various values and substituting or altering textures, it was only yesterday that I created my first TM texture from scratch, a fairly simple grass texture that I'm still working on, especially wrt coloring so it both looks great and matches other textures well. I'm now trying to gather the basic TM grass textures and grass lot textures for comparison as well as all the TM textures I use or am consider using in order to determine the best color for my grass and to map out how changes in "temperature" and "moisture" cause the game to display different textures adjacent to each other. While messing around in TM controller files, mainly to review the .ini that controls what textures go where, I noticed something new (to me) as well as some old things I'd never quite sussed out.

1. A "high cliff" texture is included in all of the terrain types. Does anyone know if this is usable or what it does and how it works? I'd love to have additional cliff/rock options but couldn't find this referenced anywhere else in the mods.
2. "Shore cliffs"--how do these work, what texture do they use, and does it have anything to do with the above mentioned "high cliffs"?