SC4D Homepage
BSC File Exchange
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length


Author Topic: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager  (Read 24518 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DarkLoki

  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Reputation: 0
Simcity 4 Plugin Manager
« on: March 15, 2007, 08:58:07 AM »
Hi all  :)

As i recently seem to have some probelms with the performance with my pc so i am not really able to play the game. No simcity means a lot of free time  "$Deal"$ so i could do other things like trying to get a little better in programming. I tought it would be a cool to make something simcity related so my this will be my next project. When i could still play the game managing plugins took a lot of work. I had diffirent regions and somethimes diffirent city's needed other plugins so it i was constantely moving plugins around. This program will eliminate that (i hope). Now for some screenshots:





Please don't laugh at me, i'm still kinda new to this  ;)

At the moment this program is far from finished but i hope to complete basic functionality. Any toughts about this?

Btw a long time ago i knew of a program that did the same but i have not been able to find it again  :P, i guess it was probably better but this program is more of an exercise for me, i hope will be usefull to some when finished.

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Simcity 4 Plugin Manager
« on: March 15, 2007, 08:58:07 AM »

Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager

Offline wouanagaine

  • *
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 2851
  • Country: 00
  • Reputation: 43
  • CL: :computer: SC4 CodeMaster
Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2007, 04:45:32 PM »
I must say that it looks nice. If it is meant to be an exercise, go thru it.
What langage do you use ? what API do you use ( for the GUI ) ?

however  JeanLucPicard already done such a tool called SC4 Startup Manager which is available at
http://kurier.simcityplaza.de/details.php?file=311

New Horizons Productions
Berethor ♦ beskhu3epnm ♦ blade2k5 ♦ dmscopio ♦ dedgren ♦ emilin ♦ Ennedi ♦ Heblem ♦ jplumbley
M4346 ♦ moganite ♦ Papab2000 ♦ Shadow Assassin ♦ Tarkus ♦ wouanagaine
Divide wouanagaine by zero and you will in fact get one...one bad-ass that is - Alek King of SC4

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2007, 04:45:32 PM »

Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager

Offline DarkLoki

  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Reputation: 0
Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2007, 08:32:14 AM »
I must say that it looks nice. If it is meant to be an exercise, go thru it.
What langage do you use ? what API do you use ( for the GUI ) ?
Cool to hear from you it looks nice  ;D. It's indeed more of an exerciese, i am making this program in the autoit language. It's a basic like scripting language, i have programmed in diffirent basic forms for years so it easy to pick up this language  :). Really this language is perfect for what i am trying to do with this program.

however  JeanLucPicard already done such a tool called SC4 Startup Manager which is available at
http://kurier.simcityplaza.de/details.php?file=311
Ah yes that was the program. I do not really care as i already knew something like this already existed. I do hope to add more features later on like an easy screenshot function.

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2007, 08:32:14 AM »

Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager

Offline wouanagaine

  • *
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 2851
  • Country: 00
  • Reputation: 43
  • CL: :computer: SC4 CodeMaster
Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2007, 08:39:11 AM »
Quote
Ah yes that was the program. I do not really care as i already knew something like this already existed. I do hope to add more features later on like an easy screenshot function.
did you look at clip2pic ? http://www.simtropolis.com/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=355&threadid=83832

New Horizons Productions
Berethor ♦ beskhu3epnm ♦ blade2k5 ♦ dmscopio ♦ dedgren ♦ emilin ♦ Ennedi ♦ Heblem ♦ jplumbley
M4346 ♦ moganite ♦ Papab2000 ♦ Shadow Assassin ♦ Tarkus ♦ wouanagaine
Divide wouanagaine by zero and you will in fact get one...one bad-ass that is - Alek King of SC4

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2007, 08:39:11 AM »

Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager

Offline DarkLoki

  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Reputation: 0
Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2007, 08:49:55 AM »
Well someday i will add a function that has not been done before  :D

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2007, 08:49:55 AM »

Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager

Offline wouanagaine

  • *
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 2851
  • Country: 00
  • Reputation: 43
  • CL: :computer: SC4 CodeMaster
Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2007, 09:05:17 AM »
Do a good and consistent config.bmp maker. ie one that does not allow the user to produce an invalid one
You'll please a lot of people :)
New Horizons Productions
Berethor ♦ beskhu3epnm ♦ blade2k5 ♦ dmscopio ♦ dedgren ♦ emilin ♦ Ennedi ♦ Heblem ♦ jplumbley
M4346 ♦ moganite ♦ Papab2000 ♦ Shadow Assassin ♦ Tarkus ♦ wouanagaine
Divide wouanagaine by zero and you will in fact get one...one bad-ass that is - Alek King of SC4

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2007, 09:05:17 AM »

Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager

Offline DarkLoki

  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Reputation: 0
Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager
« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2007, 12:15:41 PM »
Sound like a really good idea for a program. But at the moment this one is mabey 50% finished so i'm not going to just throw that away, perhaps i will have a go at that when i have somewhat finished this one :)

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager
« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2007, 12:15:41 PM »

Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager

Offline Andreas

  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 4065
  • Country: de
  • Reputation: 31
  • Gender: Male
    • SimCityPlaza
  • CL: ()bobby() Transit Controller
Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager
« Reply #7 on: April 15, 2007, 07:30:37 PM »
Do a good and consistent config.bmp maker. ie one that does not allow the user to produce an invalid one
You'll please a lot of people :)


Heh, I just found this thread by accident... The upcoming SC4 Startup Manager v3 will include a config.bmp editor that takes care of potential problems. Here are some screenshots. :)



« Last Edit: April 15, 2007, 07:34:33 PM by Andreas »
Andreas

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager
« Reply #7 on: April 15, 2007, 07:30:37 PM »

Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager

Offline dedgren

  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 4518
  • Country: us
  • Reputation: 72
  • Gender: Male
  • rust never sleeps... neither do I
  • CL: ()law() The Weight of the Law
    SC4D Counselor
Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager
« Reply #8 on: April 15, 2007, 07:35:19 PM »
Ohhh- I just hit my head on the floor passing out in amazement.

...what is there, some secret lab out there where you folks come up with this stuff?

Andreas, that's just incredible!


David


D. Edgren

Please call me David...


Three Rivers Region- A collaborative development of the SC4 community
The 3RR Quick Finder [linkie]


I'll be back!  I am back!

Skype: davidredgren

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager
« Reply #8 on: April 15, 2007, 07:35:19 PM »

Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager

Offline Gaston

  • *
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 912
  • Country: us
  • Reputation: 7
  • Gender: Male
  • Cry Havoc! ...
  • CL: Solid Citizen ()monocule()
Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager
« Reply #9 on: April 15, 2007, 09:18:15 PM »
I am stunned by this Andreas.     I will first wipe the drool off my chin (and keyboard).   sdfghjklrtuybiunoi yyiu   Sorry there was alot of it.      Now I can say that this is something I have wanted to be created for some time now.     To be able to EASILY change the config.bmp will be a dream come true.     I can hardly wait to see this made available.    It is just unbelievable.


---Gaston
白龍

They say that the memory is the second thing that goes....
...dang , I wish I could remember the first.
WooHoo made Councilman - 05 FEB 07 Yipee made Mayor - 13 MAR 07 Hip Hip Hooray made Governor - 04 AUG 07 Rock On made Senator - 15 MAR 09

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager
« Reply #9 on: April 15, 2007, 09:18:15 PM »

Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager

Offline jaatt

  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Reputation: 0
  • Freedom isn't free, Airborne ATW
Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager
« Reply #10 on: November 19, 2010, 02:24:02 PM »
Is there a way to skip the intro when starting thegame from the SUM?

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager
« Reply #10 on: November 19, 2010, 02:24:02 PM »

Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager

Offline Andreas

  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 4065
  • Country: de
  • Reputation: 31
  • Gender: Male
    • SimCityPlaza
  • CL: ()bobby() Transit Controller
Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager
« Reply #11 on: November 19, 2010, 04:15:36 PM »
Click on the config button and untick the option for the intro.
Andreas

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager
« Reply #11 on: November 19, 2010, 04:15:36 PM »

Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager

Offline blaza6925

  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Reputation: 0
Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager
« Reply #12 on: January 10, 2011, 07:25:13 PM »
I have used the Plug-in Manager (PIM) for a long time, and I just switch my operating system to Windows 7. Since switching to 7, the PIM has not been working correctly. Every time I start a map it is covered in snow! No, it is not December 25th, no I don't have snow modds, and no i haven't changed and textures/colors. Any ideas?
We build structures of steel and concrete with the most sophisticated technology the World has ever seen, but we have yet to unlock the ways the ancients built structures of stone with their hands.

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: Simcity 4 Plugin Manager
« Reply #12 on: January 10, 2011, 07:25:13 PM »

 


If you experience visual glitches in our site, we strongly suggest you to use Firefox to browse the forums. Also a 1024*768 or higher resolution is highly recommended to view this site