SC4D Homepage
BSC File Exchange
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length


Author Topic: Terraformer no longer working - Please help  (Read 4320 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline PaPa-J

  • *
  • Posts: 208
  • Country: us
  • Total likes: 227
  • Reputation: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Of course it's legal, why wouldn't it be?
Terraformer no longer working - Please help
« on: June 16, 2018, 09:50:47 AM »
I recently had to redo my system and reinstall Windows 10.  I am currently running -

Windows 10 Pro
Version: 1803
OS Build 17134.112

I had SC4Terraformer working before I reinstalled everything but it is no longer working.

I have installed DirectX 9.0c as per the Readme and I have placed all the .dll files in my C:\Windows\system32 folder including MSVCP71.dll.  I have tried running in compatibility mode for Windows XP, still doesn't work.

When I run the program it tells me that errors occurred and to look in the SC4Terraformer log file.  This is what that log file shows -

    Traceback (most recent call last):
      File "SC4Terraformer.py", line 4, in ?
      File "zipextimporter.pyo", line 78, in load_module
      File "SC4TerraformerApp.pyo", line 3, in ?
      File "zipextimporter.pyo", line 91, in load_module
    ImportError: MemoryLoadLibrary failed loading tools3D.pyd

I also tried to re-download the program just in case a file got corrupted but I still get the same error.

Any help would be appreciated.



EDIT: I got the program to work. I placed the msvcp71.dll file in the programs directory and everything worked. 

Thanks anyway everyone.
« Last Edit: June 16, 2018, 10:31:37 AM by PaPa-J »
Lighten up, just enjoy life,
smile more, laugh more,
and don't get so worked up
about things.

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Terraformer no longer working - Please help
« on: June 16, 2018, 09:50:47 AM »

Re: Terraformer no longer working - Please help

Offline APSMS

  • San Diegan
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 1041
  • Country: us
  • Total likes: 286
  • Reputation: 5
  • Gender: Male
  • "Omnia dicta fortiora si dicta Latina"
Re: Terraformer no longer working - Please help
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2018, 11:00:30 AM »
Glad you were able to figure it out!
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

My Mayor Diary San Diego: A Reinterpretation

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: Terraformer no longer working - Please help
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2018, 11:00:30 AM »

Re: Terraformer no longer working - Please help

Offline binnsbre

Re: Terraformer no longer working - Please help
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2018, 06:24:24 AM »
Hi

For me this application also worked but now when trying to open the application I get the attached error.

I have DirectX 12 installed. Should I revert back to direct X 9c. Should the directX 9c files not be part of the directx12 files.

I have tried compatibillity mode and placing the dll files in the windows/system32 folder


Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: Terraformer no longer working - Please help
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2018, 06:24:24 AM »

Re: Terraformer no longer working - Please help

Offline binnsbre

Re: Terraformer no longer working - Please help
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2018, 07:14:50 AM »
Hi

I resolved this by downloading the files from the following link

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/confirmation.aspx?id=8109

After installing these files the Terraformer worked

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: Terraformer no longer working - Please help
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2018, 07:14:50 AM »

Re: Terraformer no longer working - Please help

Offline mgb204

Re: Terraformer no longer working - Please help
« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2018, 07:48:44 AM »
Hi

For me this application also worked but now when trying to open the application I get the attached error.

I have DirectX 12 installed. Should I revert back to direct X 9c. Should the directX 9c files not be part of the directx12 files.

I have tried compatibillity mode and placing the dll files in the windows/system32 folder

OK, here is a common misunderstanding regarding DirectX. You can not revert back to DX 9c, you also don't need to. Every new version of DirectX contains all the legacy files needed to support older (legacy DirectX) versions. I.e. if you have a newer version, there is no need to install an older one.

Most likely the problem was you didn't have the necessary .dll files, or simply didn't have them installed in the right place. Adding them into the Windows/System32 folder is not some magical fix. The system must have links (in the registry) to set files for system-wide usage. Otherwise the application looking for them simply won't be able to locate them, even when present. The best advice is to place the .dlls inside the root folder of the application's install folder. That way it is 100% guaranteed that the application can find them upon startup.

Whilst I do realise installing DX 9.0c may have in effect installed the .dlls as system-wide, hence appearing to be a good solution to the problem. That ignores the fact that installing a duplicate version of DirectX, designed in 2002 for Windows XP systems, makes no sense when you are running Windows 10. The last thing you'd want is for those files to overwrite the Windows 10/DirectX 12 updated files, that could potentially end badly. It's safer to simply manually install those .dll files that are no longer part of DirectX.

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: Terraformer no longer working - Please help
« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2018, 07:48:44 AM »

Re: Terraformer no longer working - Please help

Offline PaPa-J

  • *
  • Posts: 208
  • Country: us
  • Total likes: 227
  • Reputation: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Of course it's legal, why wouldn't it be?
Re: Terraformer no longer working - Please help
« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2018, 03:27:10 PM »
OK, here is a common misunderstanding regarding DirectX. You can not revert back to DX 9c, you also don't need to. Every new version of DirectX contains all the legacy files needed to support older (legacy DirectX) versions. I.e. if you have a newer version, there is no need to install an older one.

Most likely the problem was you didn't have the necessary .dll files, or simply didn't have them installed in the right place. Adding them into the Windows/System32 folder is not some magical fix. The system must have links (in the registry) to set files for system-wide usage. Otherwise the application looking for them simply won't be able to locate them, even when present. The best advice is to place the .dlls inside the root folder of the application's install folder. That way it is 100% guaranteed that the application can find them upon startup.

Whilst I do realise installing DX 9.0c may have in effect installed the .dlls as system-wide, hence appearing to be a good solution to the problem. That ignores the fact that installing a duplicate version of DirectX, designed in 2002 for Windows XP systems, makes no sense when you are running Windows 10. The last thing you'd want is for those files to overwrite the Windows 10/DirectX 12 updated files, that could potentially end badly. It's safer to simply manually install those .dll files that are no longer part of DirectX.


OK, I recently installed a new SSD hard drive and I had to re-install all my SC4 Tools from scratch.  I installed the SC4 Terraformer and I could not get it to function.  I made sure I had all the .dll files and that they were in their proper folders and still nothing.  I tried installing some missing .dll files from Directx 9c and still nothing.  I finally just installed the whole Directx 9c program and success.  Can't figure out what I was doing wrong other than not having Directx 9c installed and functioning properly.
Lighten up, just enjoy life,
smile more, laugh more,
and don't get so worked up
about things.

Sim City 4 Devotion Forums

Re: Terraformer no longer working - Please help
« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2018, 03:27:10 PM »

 


If you experience visual glitches in our site, we strongly suggest you to use Firefox to browse the forums. Also a 1024*768 or higher resolution is highly recommended to view this site

SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
TinyPortal © 2005-2011
SMFAds for Free Forums

Page created in 0.385 seconds with 63 queries.