• Welcome to SC4 Devotion Forum Archives.

Terrain Textures

Started by Nique, September 06, 2009, 03:32:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nique

JonM, wants to help with graphics.

I have no experience with 3d programming / modeling, just done a handful of tutorials. But JonM wan'ts to know what resolution he must use for creating terrain textures. I would like to say that, of course we should use transition textures:

Textures for rivers and ocean terrain (not the water itself).
Textures for (mowed) grass (at least 4 types i think?)
Mud textures
Dirt textures
beach textures (white sand)
rock textures (for mountains)
forest ground textures (think about dead-leafs, branches)
(etc.)

I'm just talking about terrain textures. No 'lot' textures yet

Because we want this game to be customizable we should let a door open (in the programming part of texturing the terrain) for players to implant or even add their own textures. But because this is just the graphical section of the forums i would like to know in what resolution it would be wise to design.

JonM, if you have any questions, please ask it here.
Proudly developer of

croxis

JonM

I would think 512x512 should be adequate for the closest zoom, so I'll just go ahead and develop some at that res, its a question of scale too. I mean the terrain is 3d, no? because you can have the 512x512 at .5 scale, which always looks much better. And so a 512x512 grass for instance should look like it would make sense at covering 256x256 of space. Follow me?

Korot

Yes, I do, you want to compress the texture to make more details to show through and to allow stretching on uneven ground to look better, right? But that number, is that in tiles/meters or something else, like pixels?

Regards,
Korot

Nique

Quote from: Korot on September 07, 2009, 07:51:13 AM