• Welcome to SC4 Devotion Forum Archives.

Are the LODs too big?

Started by JP Schriefer, February 19, 2016, 01:36:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JP Schriefer

I think I have a big problem now. I finished the daytime version of MaracanĂ£ and tried to export it with automatic LODs just to see it in game, however Gmax won't export them, it just gets stuck in the first view and hours later shows me the message of Export Failed, error 6. Does anybody knows if there's a way to render it yet?
Thanks in advance.

Girafe

Send me your LODs, we will check if I can render them.
The Floraler

This is the end, hold your breath and count to ten, feel the earth move, and then...

*   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *    *   *   *   *   *    * 

MushyMushy

I'm not an expert on this, but I do remember from an older thread that gmax has limitations on how big the LOD can be and that going over the limit caused the Error 6. I think I remember someone saying it was a "general error" code so I assume that means it could apply to a lot of things, not just the LOD size limit. I'm not sure. That thread only mentioned limitations on the Z axis, but I personally suspect it affects all three axis. This is why super tall skyscrapers are exported in multiple pieces. That was the problem the person on that thread had: the building was too tall so they had to slice it in half (they never did, as far as I know they dropped the project).
I'm basing my conjecture about it affecting the other axis on the Beijing Olympic Stadium released a long time ago (it's called the Bird's Nest, isn't it?) . That stadium was quite large and the person exported it in two pieces that were lined up in the LE. I can't think of any reason they would do that other than LOD size limitations (they didn't post the two parts as separate downloads so it wasn't a file size issue). If I remember correctly your stadium is also very large, so perhaps the size of the LODs is the problem?